At the Trailblazer Honors, the vice president pays tribute to the LGBT community

By Dana Getz
June 24, 2016 at 05:55 PM EDT
Michael Kovac/WireImage

Vice President Joe Biden, Christina Aguilera, and Sia are among the big names who commemorated the victims of the Orlando massacre the the Trailblazer Honors, Logo announced Friday.

The network’s third annual awards show, which recognizes pioneers in the LGBT community and airs Saturday, is dedicated to the Orlando mass shooting, which left 49 dead and 53 injured at Pulse nightclub on June 12. Biden honored the victims with a special video message, while stars like Aguilera and Sia appeared in a “We Are Orlando” tribute compilation. Also featured are Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer, Boy George, Whoopi Goldberg and the cast of Strut, Glenn Close, Rita Ora, Melissa Etheridge, Kelly Osbourne, Denis O’Hare, Kathy Griffin, LeVar Burton, Nicole ‘Snooki’ Polizzi, and Shirley Manson.

“[A]s we celebrate a year of equality in marriage, draconian state laws deny transgender Americans basic civil rights. And in nearly 70 countries, it’s a crime. It’s a crime to be who you are,” Biden says in his video. “You know, our hearts are still heavy for Orlando, but you’re showing tonight that we are Orlando. We’re all Americans. Unbowed. Unrelenting. We endure. We overcome. We’re hopeful and we will not be silent.”

This year’s event will spotlight actor and playwright Harvey Fierstein, gay Syrian refugee Subhi Nahas, and transgender activists Marsha P. Johnson and Sylvia Rivera, as well as LGBT media outlet The Advocate. Emma Stone will honor tennis legend Billie Jean King, whom she portrays in the upcoming movie Battle of the Sexes, while “Fight Song” singer Rachel Platten will perform.

Laverne Cox, Judith Light, and Matthew Broderick are among those who will pay tribute to this year’s honorees via video. Stage presenters include Chloë Grace Moretz, Macklemore, Lance Bass, Janet Mock, Wilson Cruz, and Candis Cayne.

Watch Biden’s message and the “We Are Orlando” tribute video below. The Trailblazer Honors will air on Saturday at 8 p.m. ET on Logo and VH1.