'Hannibal' actor Mads Mikkelsen and 'Son of Saul' director László Nemes will also preside
Credit: Steve Granitz/WireImage; Amanda Edwards/WireImage

On the heels of announcing one of its most noteworthy film slates in years, the 2016 Cannes Film Festival is spicing things up yet again with an eclectic mix of film industry leaders confirmed as part of the festival jury.

Actors Kirsten Dunst, Donald Sutherland, and Mads Mikkelsen will join previously-announced president George Miller, on the 9-member jury. The international group will oversee 21 main competition selections, voting to determine awards in various categories, including Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director, and the festival’s highest honor, the Palme d’Or, among others. Award winners will be announced during the festival’s closing night ceremony on May 22.

Hungarian director László Nemes​, whose 2015 Cannes competition film Son of Saul went on to win the 2016 Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film, also joins the jury alongside French director Arnaud Desplechin (A Christmas Tale), Italian performer and filmmaker Valeria Golino (Rain Man), French actress Vanessa Paradis (Fading Gigolo), and Iranian documentary producer Katayoon Shahabi (Sepideh).

Titles in the running for main competition awards at the 69th Cannes Film Festival include works from multiple international auteurs, among them Xavier Dolan’s It’s Only the End of the World, Asghar Farhadi’s The Salesman, Pedro Almodóvar’s Julieta, Jeff Nichols’ Loving, Jim Jarmusch’s Paterson, Olivier Assayas’ Personal Shopper and the Dardenne brothers’ La Fille Inconnue. Despite the jury’s nearly even gender split, only three films directed by women will screen in competition: Nicole Garcia’s From the Land of the Moon, Andrea Arnold’s American Honey, and Maren Ade’s Toni Erdmann.

The 2016 Cannes Film Festival runs May 11–22, with Woody Allen’s Kristen Stewart-starring period romance, Café Society, screening out of competition as the opening night film. Head over to the official Cannes website for more information on individual jury members.