Credit: Netflix; ABC; USA Network; Netflix

Critical darlings Jessica Jones, Mr. Robot, Transparent, and more are among the 11 TV series that were granted Peabody Awards on Friday.

Now in its 75th year, the Peabody Awards honor the best in American media, drawing from a pool of approximately 1,000 entries. The winners are decided upon following a rigorous decision-making process by the Peabody Board, comprised of media industry professionals, critics, and journalists. “The single criteria for receiving a Peabody Award is excellence,” according to Peabody. “Toward that end, Board members ask themselves: Does this story matter? Is it a story that needs telling? Does it inform us as citizens or help us empathize with one another?”

WANT MORE EW? Subscribe now to keep up with the latest in movies, television, and music.

Also honored as part of the Peabody’s Entertainment and Children’s Programming winners: Beasts of No Nation, Master of None, Wolf Hall, Black-ish, The Leftovers, UnREAL, Deutschland 83, and Katie Morag.

A total of 25–30 Peabody winners are named annually. Earlier this week, news, radio, podcast, and Web winners were announced; honorees from the Documentary and Education category will be named Tuesday.

Episode Recaps

Marvel's Jessica Jones
  • TV Show
  • 3