Demetri Martin from "Dean"
Credit: Larry Busacca/Getty Images

The 15th Tribeca Film Festival announced its winners today, with the top prize in the U.S. narrative competition going to former Daily Show correspondent Demetri Martin’s rueful comedy Dean, staring himself and Kevin Kline as a son and father mourning a family loss.

The U.S. narrative jury (which included Tangerine actress Mya Taylor and EW’s own film critic Chris Nashawaty) also gave awards to actress Mackenzie Davis (The Martian) in the tight thriller Always Shine, and actor Dominic Rains, who plays an Afghan journalist working in Northern California in The Fixer.

Credit: Nate Harrison

Craig Atkinson’s Do Not Resist, about the rise of militarization in the U.S. police force, won the award for Best Documentary. Contemporary Color, a concert film by Bill and Turner Ross, focusing on a Brooklyn music event staged by David Byrne, won two awards: editing and cinematography.

The full list of winners follows, below. Screenings of the award-winning films will take place throughout the final day of the festival, on Sunday, April 24, at various venues. Specific times and ticketing information are available here.

Best Actor in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Dominic Rains in The Fixer

Best Actress in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Mackenzie Davis in Always Shine

Best Cinematography in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film – Michael Ragen for Kicks

Best Screenplay in a U.S. Narrative Feature Film Women Who Kill written by Ingrid Jungermann

Best International Narrative Feature Junction 48, written and directed by Udi Aloni

Best Actor in an International Narrative Feature Film – Alan Sabbagh in The Tenth Man

Best Actress in an International Narrative Feature Film – Radhika Apte in Clean Shaven, a part of the omnibus film Madly

Best Cinematography in an International Narrative Feature Film – Kjell Vassdal for El Clásico

Best Screenplay in an International Narrative Feature Film – Perfect Strangers written by Filippo Bologna, Paolo Costella, Paolo Genovese, Paola Mammini, Rolando Ravello​

Best Documentary Feature Do Not Resist, directed by Craig Atkinson (USA)

Best Documentary Cinematography – Jarred Alterman for Contemporary Color (USA)

Best Documentary Editing – Bill Ross for Contemporary Color (USA)

Best New Narrative Director – Priscilla Anany, Children of the Mountain (USA, Ghana)

Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award – David Feige for Untouchable (USA)

Storyscapes Award: Notes on Blindness: Into Darkness created by Arnaud Colinart, Amaury Laburthe, Peter Middleton, James Spinney

The Nora Ephron Prize: Rachel Tunnard, director, writer and editor of Adult Life Skills (UK)

Tribeca X Award: Hearing Colors created by Greg Brunkalla for Samsung