'Boyfriend' is the first taste of their new album
Credit: George Pimentel/Getty Images

After teasing the track late last month, Tegan and Sara have shared the full version of “Boyfriend,” the first single from their forthcoming eighth studio album Love You To Death.

Premiered on Beats 1 Thursday, the song stays much in line with their pop-imbued 2013 LP,Heartthrob, pairing a synthy ’80s beat with lovesick lyrics.

“It’s a pretty straight forward pop song about a relationship I was getting into with a girl who had never dated a girl before,” Sara Quinn said. “She had a guy she was sort of seeing and we used to joke around she was treating me like her boyfriend and I was trying to get her to tie it down. I think that’s pretty relatable. Obviously being gay and the bit of a gender twist in the song. I get that doesn’t seem immediately relatable to everybody whether they’re straight or whatever. But this idea that we’ve all been in that situation where we really like someone and want to make it official and they’re not ready, that’s what the song is about.”

The Quin twins have also teased “U-turn,” which is set for release Friday. Love You To Death, their first new record in three years, is out June 3. Listen to “Boyfriend” and view the album’s art and tracklist below.


01 “That Girl”

02 “Faint Of Heart”

03 “Boyfriend”

04 “Dying To Know”

05 “Stop Desire”

06 “White Knuckles”

07 “100x”

08 “BWU”

09 “U-turn”

10 “Hang On To The Night”