'Day of the Dead' will feature Jenny Lewis, Lucinda Williams, War on Drugs, the Flaming Lips, and more -- and will benefit the Red Hot Organization.
Credit: Shervin Lainez

Aaron and Bryce Dessner of the Brooklyn by way of Cincinatti rock band the National, are returning to the Red Hot organization this spring, curating the the not-for-profit’s 20th benefit album. (The brothers previously oversaw 2009’s excellent Dark Was The Night collection, which has raised 1.5 million dollars for HIV and AIDS awareness.) The 2016 iteration, titled Day of the Dead, will also honor the work of — yep, you guessed it — the Grateful Dead.

Work began over four years ago for the 59-track, nearly-six hour collection. It features more than 60 artists, including Jenny Lewis, Bruce Hornsby (who began touring with the Dead in 1988), Lucinda Williams, War on Drugs, the Flaming Lips, Courtney Barnett, Mumford & Sons, and many more. The set is due to release May 20, 2016 via 4AD.

The track listing boasts plenty unexpected collaborations, as well: Sharon Van Etten and Perfum Genius perform “To Lay Me Down,” Jenny Lewis and Moses Sumney take on “Cassidy,” and TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe partners with Sonic Youth founder Lee Ranaldo for “Playing in the Band.”

Album artwork and full track listing is below.




01. Touch of Grey – The War on Drugs

02. Sugaree – Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends

03. Candyman – Jim James & Friends

04. Cassidy – Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends

05. Black Muddy River – Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison

06. Loser – Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends

07. Peggy-O – The National

08. Box of Rain – Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis)

09. Rubin and Cherise – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends

10. To Lay Me Down – Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends

11. New Speedway Boogie – Courtney Barnett

12. Friend of the Devil – Mumford & Sons

13. Uncle John’s Band – Lucius

14. Me and My Uncle – The Lone Bellow & Friends

15. Mountains of the Moon – Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends

16. Black Peter – Anohni and yMusic

17. Garcia Counterpoint – Bryce Dessner

18. Terrapin Station (Suite) – Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National (featuring

Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus)

19. Attics of My Life – Angel Olsen

20. St. Stephen (live) – Wilco with Bob Weir


(Vol. 2)

01. If I Had the World to Give – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy

02. Standing on the Moon – Phosphorescent & Friends

03. Cumberland Blues – Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band

04. Ship of Fools – The Tallest Man on Earth & Friends

05. Bird Song – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends

06. Morning Dew – The National

07. Truckin’ – Marijuana Deathsquads

08. Dark Star – Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends

09. Nightfall of Diamonds – Nightfall of Diamonds

10. Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald – Tim Hecker

11. Going Down The Road Feelin’ Bad – Lucinda Williams & Friends

12. Playing in the Band – Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends

13. Stella Blue – Local Natives

14. Eyes of the World – Tal National

15. Help on the Way – Bela Fleck

16. Franklin’s Tower – Orchestra Baobab

17. Till the Morning Comes – Luluc with Xylouris White

18. Ripple – The Walkmen

19. Brokedown Palace – Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream (featuring

Garth Hudson)


(Vol. 3)

01. Here Comes Sunshine – Real Estate

02. Shakedown Street – Unknown Mortal Orchestra

03. Brown-Eyed Women – Hiss Golden Messenger

04. Jack-A-Roe – This Is the Kit

05. High Time – Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear

06. Dire Wolf – The Lone Bellow & Friends

07. Althea – Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura

08. Clementine Jam – Orchestra Baobab

09. China Cat Sunflower -> I Know You Rider – Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks

10. Easy Wind – Bill Callahan

11. Wharf Rat – Ira Kaplan & Friends

12. Estimated Prophet – The Rileys

13. Drums -> Space – Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida

14. Cream Puff War – Fucked Up

15. Dark Star – The Flaming Lips

16. What’s Become of the Baby – s t a r g a z e

17. King Solomon’s Marbles – Vijay Iyer

18. Rosemary – Mina Tindle & Friends

19. And We Bid You Goodnight – Sam Amidon

20. I Know You Rider (live) – The National with Bob Weir