Hear the first single, 'Do It, Try It.'
Credit: Tommaso Boddi/WireImage

UPDATE: M83 released “Do It, Try It,” the first song off their new album Junk Monday. A release also further explained the group’s new collection: “Anything we create today is going to end up being space junk at one point anyway, and I find it really fascinating and scary at the same time – beautiful too in a way. I have this image of pieces of humanity floating in space, lost forever,” Anthony Gonzalez says. “It also means that nowadays everything goes so fast and everybody is kind of throwing away art in a certain manner. People will listen to an album for instance and just pick a track they like to put on a playlist. They’re not going to take the time to listen to an album anymore because they have to jump on the next thing.”

Hear the first song and see the track list below.

1. Do It, Try It

2. Go!

3. Walkway Blues

4. Bibi The Dog

5. Moon Crystal

6. For The Kids

7. Solitude

8. The Wizard

9. Laser Gun

10. Road Blaster

11. Tension

12. Atlantique Sud

13. Time Wind

14. Ludivine

15. Sunday Night 1987

EARLIER: M83, the electro-pop act behind 2011’s Grammy-nominated Hurry Up We’re Dreaming and its platinum-selling hit “Midnight City,” will release a new album, Junk, on April 8 via Mute Records.

Last year, frontman Anthony Gonzalez spoke to EW about creating the follow-up to 2011’s collection, and said the album incorporates tracks produced alongside touring bassist Justin Meldal-Johnsen that were inspired by television series like Punky Brewster and Who’s the Boss.

“It’s a very strong album with a lot of eclecticism,” Gonzalez told EW in December 2015. “It’s very epic. There’s a lot of different genres that are not supposed to live together but I tried to make them live together, which is quite challenging. It’s also quite different from the previous albums which is what I’m the most proud of.”

After hosting open auditions back in 2011, which resulted in current member Jordan Lawlor joining the band, M83 once again called for submissions earlier this year to find a replacement for former keyboardist Morgan Kibby, who now performs under the moniker White Sea as a solo act.