Thanks to costume designer Janie Bryant , Hamm's '60s ad man single-handedly revived an interest in the classic two-button suit.

The Writers Guild of America, West and East announced the winners of the 2016 WGA Awards on Saturday. Among the high-profile recipients of the film and TV categories were Spotlight, The Big Short, Mad Men, Veep, and Mr. Robot.

Tom McCarthy’s journalism drama about the Boston Globe’ s investigation of sex abuse in the Catholic Church has been scooping up various awards and nominations from the Screen Actors Guild, Broadcast Film Critics, and Independent Spirit Awards. Ahead of the Oscars, for which it received six nominations, the film took the WGA Award for Original Screenplay.

Elsewhere, Mad Men, after winning a Golden Globe for Jon Hamm, took home the Drama Series award, while breakout Mr. Robot won for New Series.

The full list of winners were announced during concurrent ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York. You can see them all below, including those from the radio, videogames, new media, news, and promotional categories. There were no nominees in the TV graphic art and animation category this year.

WANT MORE EW? Subscribe now to keep up with the latest in movies, television and music.


ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Spotlight, Written by Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy; Open Road Films

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: The Big Short, Screenplay by Charles Randolph and Adam McKay; Based on the Book by Michael Lewis; Paramount Pictures

DOCUMENTARY SCREENPLAY: Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief, Written by Alex Gibney; HBO Documentary Films


DRAMA SERIES: Mad Men, Written by Lisa Albert, Semi Chellas, Jonathan Igla, Janet Leahy, Erin Levy, Tom Smuts, Robert Towne, Matthew Weiner, Carly Wray; AMC

COMEDY SERIES: Veep, Written by Simon Blackwell, Jon Brown, Kevin Cecil, Roger Drew, Peter Fellows, Neil Gibbons, Rob Gibbons, Sean Gray, Callie Hersheway, Armando Iannucci, Sean Love, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Andy Riley, Tony Roche, Will Smith; HBO

NEW SERIES: Mr. Robot, Written by Kyle Bradstreet, Kate Erickson, Sam Esmail, David Iserson, Randolph Leon, Adam Penn, Matt Pyken; USA

ORIGINAL LONG FORM: Saints & Strangers, Written by Seth Fisher, Walon Green, Chip Johannessen, Eric Overmyer; National Geographic Channel

ADAPTED LONG FORM: Fargo, Written by Steve Blackman, Bob DeLaurentis, Noah Hawley, Ben Nedivi, Matt Wolpert, Based on the film Fargo; FX

ORIGINAL SHORT FORM NEW MEDIA: “Back to Reality” (Weight), Written by Daryn Strauss;

ADAPTED SHORT FORM NEW MEDIA: “Chapter Two: Phoebe” (Heroes Reborn: Dark Matters), Written by Zach Craley;

ANIMATION: “Housetrap” (Bob’s Burgers), Written by Dan Fybel; Fox

EPISODIC DRAMA:“Uno” (Better Call Saul), Written by Vince Gilligan & Peter Gould; AMC

EPISODIC COMEDY: “Sand Hill Shuffle” (Silicon Valley), Written by Clay Tarver; HBO

COMEDY / VARIETY TALK SERIES: Real Time with Bill Maher, Writers: Scott Carter, Adam Felber, Matt Gunn, Brian Jacobsmeyer, Jay Jaroch, Chris Kelly, Bill Maher, Billy Martin, Danny Vermont; HBO

COMEDY / VARIETY SKETCH SERIES: Inside Amy Schumer, Head Writer: Jessi Klein Writers: Hallie Cantor, Kim Caramele, Kyle Dunnigan, Jon Glaser, Kurt Metzger, Christine Nangle, Dan Powell, Tami Sagher, Amy Schumer; Comedy Central

COMEDY / VARIETY SPECIALS: Jimmy Kimmel Live: 10th Annual After The Oscars Special, Written by Jack Allison, Tony Barbieri, Jonathan Bines, Joelle Boucai, Greg Dorris, Gary Greenberg, Josh Halloway, Sal Iacono, Eric Immerman, Jimmy Kimmel, Bess Kalb, Jeff Loveness, Molly McNearney, Danny Ricker, Joe Strazzullo, Bridger Winegar; ABC

QUIZ AND AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION: Hollywood Game Night, Head Writer: Grant Taylor; Writers: Michael Agbabian, Alex Chauvin, Ann Slichter, Dwight D. Smith; NBC

DAYTIME DRAMA: General Hospital, Writers: Ron Carlivati, Anna Theresa Cascio, Andrea Archer Compton, Suzanne Flynn, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Connor, Elizabeth Page, Jean Passanante, Katherine Schock, Scott Sickles, Chris Van Etten; ABC

CHILDREN’S EPISODIC: “Gortimer, Ranger and Mel vs. The Endless Night” (Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street), Written by Gretchen Enders & Aminta Goyel; Amazon Studios

CHILDREN’S LONG FORM: Descendants, Written by Josann McGibbon & Sara Parriott; Disney Channel

DOCUMENTARY SCRIPT – CURRENT EVENTS: “American Terrorist” (Frontline), Written by Thomas Jennings; PBS

DOCUMENTARY SCRIPT – OTHER THAN CURRENT EVENTS: “The Great Math Mystery” (Nova), Written by Daniel McCabe; PBS

TV NEWS SCRIPT – REGULARLY SCHEDULED, BULLETIN, OR BREAKING REPORT: “Cuba” (60 Minutes), Written by Scott Pelley, Nicole Young, Oriana Zill de Granados, Andy Court and Robert Anderson; CBS News

TV NEWS SCRIPT – ANALYSIS, FEATURE, OR COMMENTARY: “The Storm After the Storm” (60 Minutes), Written by Sharyn Alfonsi, Michael Rey and Oriana Zill de Granados; CBS News


RADIO DOCUMENTARY: “Marking the End of Vietnam: 40 Years Later,” Written by Andrew Evans; ABC News Radio

RADIO NEWS SCRIPT—REGULARLY SCHEDULED, BULLETIN, OR BREAKING REPORT: “Remembering New York Icons,” Written by Thomas A. Sabella; CBS Radio News



ON-AIR PROMOTION (TELEVISION, NEW MEDIA OR RADIO): “The McCarthys and Under the Dome Promos,” Written by Erial Tompkins; CBS


OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN VIDEOGAME WRITING: Rise of the Tomb Raider, Lead Narrative Designer John Stafford; Narrative Designer Cameron Suey; Lead Writer Rhianna Pratchett; Additional Writer Philip Gelatt; Microsoft

Episode Recaps

Thanks to costume designer Janie Bryant , Hamm's '60s ad man single-handedly revived an interest in the classic two-button suit.
Mad Men

Jon Hamm stars as Don Draper in the Emmy-winning ’60s-set drama

  • TV Show
  • 7
stream service