By James Hibberd
Updated December 30, 2015 at 12:00 PM EST
Credit: Lucasfilm

You just saw The Force Awakens and want more next-gen Star Wars. Well, you’re going to get more. A lot more. Regularly and steadily, for many years to come. But when, specifically, will each new title be released? Below is Disney’s not-quite-top-secret plan. Obviously, these dates are subject to change. Thankfully, no Bothans died to bring us this information …

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Director: Gareth Edwards

Written by: Gary Whitta and Chris Weitz

Starring: Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Riz Ahmed, Ben Mendelsohn, Donnie Yen, Jiang Wen, Forest Whitaker, Mads Mikkelsen, and Alan Tudyk

Logline: Following the foundation of the Galactic Empire, a wayward band of Rebel fighters comes together to carry out a desperate mission: to steal the plans for the Death Star before it can be used to enforce the Emperor’s rule.

Release: Dec. 16, 2016

(So, yes, a long full year. But given we had to wait a decade for The Force Awakens — or, depending on your feelings about the prequels, 32 years since Return of the Jedi — sitting back for just one year doesn’t seem all that bad …)

Star Wars: Episode VIII

Written and directed by Rian Johnson

Starring: Mark Hamill, Daisy Ridley, Oscar Isaac (reportedly)

Release: Dec. 15, 2017 (pushed back seven months from its original release date of May, 2017)

Logline: Unknown

Star Wars Anthology: Han Solo (working title)

Directors: Phil Lord and Christopher Miller

Written by: Lawrence and Jon Kasdan

Starring: Not yet announced

Logline: How young Han Solo became the smuggler, thief, and scoundrel whom Luke Skywalker and Obi-Wan Kenobi first encountered in the cantina at Mos Eisley.

Release: May 25th, 2018

Star Wars: Episode IX

Director: Colin Trevorrow

Writer: Rian Johnson

Starring: Not yet announced

Logline: Unknown

Release: 2019

Star Wars Anthology: Boba Fett

Director: Not yet announced

Writer: Not yet announced

Starring: Not yet announced

Logline: Unknown

Release: 2020 (reportedly)

So if all this goes according to plan, we’ll get five Star Wars films in four years … after getting “only” seven Star Wars films over 38 years. Not bad!

This post has been updated with new release date information since its original publication.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)Carrie Fisher as Leia

Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens

  • Movie
  • J.J. Abrams
stream service