By Nick Romano
Updated December 21, 2015 at 12:00 PM EST
Chuck Zlotnick; Lucasfilm
  • Movie

After breaking box office records all weekend, Star Wars: The Force Awakens has joined the shortlist of 10 films contending for an Oscar nomination in the visual effects category.

Announced Monday via press release, the other nine films are Ant-Man, Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ex Machina, Jurassic World, Mad Max: Fury Road, The Martian, The Revenant, Tomorrowland, and The Walk. Furious 7, Jupiter Ascending, and Spectre were among the titles that did not move on from the first round.

WANT MORE EW? Subscribe now to keep up with the latest in movies, television and music.

These entries were decided on by the Academy’s Visual Effects Branch Executive Committee, the members of which are invited to reconvene on Jan. 9 to view 10-minute excerpts from each film. They will then vote on which five of these 10 will earn 2016 Oscar nominations in VFX.

While Jurassic World dominated the blockbuster sphere earlier this year, The Force Awakens blew past its record earnings with massive numbers from opening weekend. Will these cinematic titans face off again in the upcoming Oscars race?

Another interesting entry is Fury Road, which received two Golden Globe nominations for Best Motion Picture – Drama and Best Director – Motion Picture. In addition, the George Miller actioner was nominated for Best Stunt Ensemble for the Screen Actors Guild, and has been praised by various critics associations.

RELATED: See The Force Awakens trailer

The 2016 Oscar nominations will be announced on Jan. 14 ahead of the awards ceremony on Feb. 28.


2015 movie
  • Movie
  • PG-13
  • 115 minutes
  • Peyton Reed