Credit: Kerry Hayes

The 25th annual Gotham Independent Film Awards honored the best in independent film on Monday night, with Spotlight taking home three awards, followed closely by Tangerine, which won two.

In addition to winning Best Feature and Best Screenplay, Spotlight was also previously announced as the recipient of a special Gotham Jury Award, given to Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci, and Brian D’Arcy James for their ensemble work in the film about The Boston Globe‘s 2002 investigation into sexual abuse by Catholic priests.

Tangerine, about a pair of transgender prostitutes, won the Audience Award, as well as a Breakthrough Actor honor for young star Mya Taylor.

The Diary of a Teenage Girl led this year’s nominees with four nods, and took home one award: In an upset, Bel Powley beat out Brie Larson, Cate Blanchett, Lily Tomlin, Kristen Wiig, and Blythe Danner for Best Actress.

See the full list of winners below:

Best Feature

  • Carol

    Todd Haynes, director; Elizabeth Karlsen, Tessa Ross, Christine Vachon, Stephen Woolley, producers (The Weinstein Company)

  • The Diary of a Teenage Girl

    Marielle Heller, director; Anne Carey, Bert Hamelinck, Madeline Samit, Miranda Bailey, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

  • Heaven Knows What

    Josh and Benny Safdie, directors; Oscar Boyson, Sebastian Bear-McClard, producers (RADiUS)

  • WINNER: Spotlight

    Tom McCarthy, director; Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, Blye Pagan Faust, producers (Open Road Films)

  • Tangerine

    Sean Baker, director; Darren Dean, Shih-Ching Tsou, Marcus Cox & Karrie Cox, producers (Magnolia Pictures)

Best Documentary

  • Approaching the Elephant

    Amanda Rose Wilder, director; Jay Craven, Robert Greene, Amanda Rose Wilder, producers (Kingdom County Productions)

  • Cartel Land

    Matthew Heineman, director; Matthew Heineman, Tom Yellin, producers (The Orchard and A&E IndieFilms)

  • Heart of a Dog

    Laurie Anderson, director; Dan Janvey, Laurie Anderson, producers (Abramorama and HBO Documentary Films)

  • Listen to Me Marlon

    Stevan Riley, director; John Battsek, RJ Cutler, George Chignell, producers (Showtime Documentary Films)

  • WINNER: The Look of Silence

    Joshua Oppenheimer, director; Signe Byrge Sørensen, producer (Drafthouse Films)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

  • Desiree Akhavan for Appropriate Behavior (Gravitas Ventures)
  • WINNER: Jonas Carpigano for Mediterranea (Sundance Selects)
  • Marielle Heller for The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • John Magary for The Mend (Cinelicious Pics)
  • Josh Mond for James White (The Film Arcade)

Best Screenplay

  • Carol, Phyllis Nagy (The Weinstein Company)
  • The Diary of a Teenage Girl, Marielle Heller (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Love & Mercy, Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner (Roadside Attractions, Lionsgate, and River Road Entertainment)
  • WINNER: Spotlight, Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer (Open Road Films)
  • While We’re Young, Noah Baumbach (A24)

Best Actor

  • Christopher Abbott in James White (The Film Arcade)
  • Kevin Corrigan in Results (Magnolia Pictures)
  • WINNER: Paul Dano in Love & Mercy (Roadside Attractions, Lionsgate, and River Road Entertainment)
  • Peter Sarsgaard in Experimenter (Magnolia Pictures)
  • Michael Shannon in 99 Homes (Broad Green Pictures)

Best Actress

  • Cate Blanchett in Carol (The Weinstein Company)
  • Blythe Danner in I’ll See You in My Dreams (Bleecker Street)
  • Brie Larson in Room (A24 Films)
  • WINNER: Bel Powley in The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Lily Tomlin in Grandma (Sony Pictures Classics)
  • Kristen Wiig in Welcome to Me (Alchemy)

Breakthrough Actor

  • Rory Culkin in Gabriel (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
  • Arielle Holmes in Heaven Knows What (RADiUS)
  • Lola Kirke in Mistress America (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • Kitana Kiki Rodriguez in Tangerine (Magnolia Pictures)
  • WINNER: Mya Taylor in Tangerine (Magnolia Pictures)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

  • Jane the Virgin, Jennie Snyder Urman, creator (The CW)
  • WINNER: Mr. Robot, Sam Esmail, creator (USA Network)
  • Transparent, Jill Soloway, creator (Amazon)
  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Tina Fey, Robert Carlock, creators (Netflix)
  • UnREAL, Marti Noxon, Sarah Gertrude Shapiro, creators (Lifetime)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

  • Bee and PuppyCat, Natasha Alllegri, creator (Cartoon Hangover)
  • The Impossibilities, Anna Kerrigan, creator (
  • Qraftish, Christal, creator (
  • WINNER: Shugs and Fats, Nadia Manzoor and Radhka Vaz, creator (ShugsandFats.TV)
  • You’re So Talented, Sam Bailey, creator (Open TV)

Check out our interiews with many of the nominees below:

  • Movie
  • 128 minutes