Credit: Mathias Clamer/FX

Fargo just received more than just Midwestern niceities from FX: The network announced on Monday that it has ordered a third season of the critically acclaimed small-town crime drama.

Creator/executive producer Noah Hawley will return for the third installment, as will executive producers Joel and Ethan Cohen (who co-wrote the 1996 film that inspired the show), Warren Littlefield, and John Cameron. No news on the setting or the cast, which has changed in each of the first two seasons.

WANT MORE EW? Subscribe now to keep up with the latest in movies, television, and music.

Season 1 of Fargo, which was set in Bemidji, Minnesota, and starred Billy Bob Thorton, Martin Freeman, Allison Tolman, and Colin Hanks, won the Outstanding Miniseries Emmy as well as the Golden Globe for Best Miniseries. For season 2, the show changed its setting and era (a prequel taking place in Luverne, Minnesota in 1979) and rotated in a different but also star-studded cast (Ted Danson, Jean Smart, Kirsten Dunst, Jesse Plemons, Patrick Wilson), and critics once again have showered the show with praise, giving it a 100 percent rating on Rotten Tomatoes. This season’s ratings haven’t been quite as strong, though, as season 2 is averaging 2.61 million viewers in Live+3 through the first six episodes, versus 3.45 million for the first six installments of season 1.

The renewal news arrives in the thick of Fargo’s second season, which has four more episodes left and comes to a blackly comedic finish on Dec. 14.

Episode Recaps

An anthology series Inspired by the 1996 Coen Brothers film of the same name.
  • TV Show
  • 4