Adam Johnson, author of the short story collection Fortune Smiles, has won the 2015 National Book Award for fiction, it was announced on Wednesday night. Johnson, who won the Pulitzer Prize for his novel The Orphan Master’s Son, beats frontrunners Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life and Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies, Karen E. Bender’s story collection Refund, and Angela Flournoy’s debut novel, The Turner House.

EW gave Fortune Smiles a solid “A” upon its release, with critic Leah Greenblatt writing, “Fortune’s six stories are mostly grounded in more familiar settings, but strangeness thrums beneath them all…. every one carves out its own little corner of weird, indelible humanity.”

The winners were announced Wednesday evening at the National Book Foundation’s ceremony in New York City.