Spike Lee, Gena Rowlands, Debbie Reynolds will be feted at Nov. 14 event

By Nicole Sperling
August 27, 2015 at 06:26 PM EDT
Lou Rocco/ABC via Getty Images; Stefanie Keenan/WireImage; Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP

The 7th annual Governors Awards will celebrate the accomplishments of Spike Lee and Gena Rowlands with Honorary Awards, while bestowing the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award on Debbie Reynolds. 

Last year’s recipients included actress Maureen O’Hara, animator Hayao Miyazaki, and French screenwriter Jean-Claude Carriere, while the Academy recognized Harry Belafonte for his civil rights activism. 

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”

This years awards will be presented on Nov. 14 at the Dolby Theater in Hollywood.