By Jessica Goodman
August 25, 2015 at 11:07 PM EDT
Mike Pont/Getty Images

MTV has been keeping this year’s Video Music Awards performers under wraps, but the network finally spilled the beans Tuesday and announced that Pharrell, Demi Lovato, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Tori Kelly, A$AP Rocky, and Twenty One Pilots will play at the event, in addition to The Weeknd, who the network already announced.

Early in the day, MTV teased a promo featuring silhouettes of who would take the stage.


A video promo accompanied the announcement.

MTV also released info that Kanye West would receive the Video Vanguard Award during Sunday’s show, and he is expected to perform in support of the honor as well. Additional performers will be announced at a later date, MTV said in a statement.

Related Stories

Kanye West to receive the Vanguard Award at MTV VMA Awards

This is what the MTV Video Music Awards looked like in 1995

How the Internet would have GIF’d the first VMAs