Credit: Gabriel Bouys/AFP/Getty Images

After a career that has spanned six decades, director Brian De Palma will be honored at the 72nd Venice International Film Festival.

De Palma will receive the Glory to the Filmmaker Award, which honors individuals who have made great contributions to modern film. Previous recipients include Sylvester Stallone, Al Pacino, Spike Lee, Ettore Scola, and James Franco.

“The child of an artistic era (the ‘70s) full of innovative ferment, Brian De Palma has made a name for himself as one of the most skillful directors in constructing perfect narrative mechanics with great creative freedom, experimenting with new technical solutions, rejecting the classic rules of the language, abandoning himself to aesthetic virtuosity, and celebrating his favorite authors,” Alberto Barbera, the festival’s director, said in a statement.

In addition to De Palma’s award, the festival will also see the world premiere of Noah Baumbach and Jake Paltrow’s documentary De Palma, which is screening out of competition. Born out of more than 10 years of conversations between De Palma, Baumbach, and Paltrow, the film chronicles De Palma’s extensive career and filmmaking process.

De Palma has screened seven movies at the Venice Film Festival over 40 years, including Sisters (1975), The Untouchables (1992), and The Black Dahlia (2006). In 2007, his film Redacted won the Silver Lion.

The festival runs Sept. 2-12.