By Jonathon Dornbush
August 05, 2015 at 12:59 PM EDT
  • Video Games

The focus since Star Wars: Battlefront‘s reveal has been primarily on ground-based combat, but fear not, aspiring rebel pilots — there will be plenty of aerial dogfights to go around.

At the Gamescom convention in Germany, EA and DICE revealed the Fighter Squadron mode for Battlefront, which will allow players to fly both familiar rebel and Empire vehicles in a vehicle-only mode. The trailer reveals that X-Wings, A-Wings, TIE Fighters, and TIE Interceptors are all included in the mode.

And as the land-based fights include the ability to play as iconic characters from the franchise, so to does FIghter Squadron let players control famous ships, as both the Millennium Falcon and Boba Fett’s Slave I pop up at the end of the trailer.

The name of the mode offers a nod to the popular Star Wars “Rogue Squadron” games, which first appeared on PCs and the Nintendo 64 in 1998. Star Wars Battlefront will hit the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Windows PC on Nov. 17.

Related Stories

Watch a Star Wars: Battlefront battle on Tatooine from E3

EA shows off Star Wars Battlefront, Mass Effect Andromeda, Mirror’s Edge, and more at E3

Star Wars: Battlefront trailer, release date, first details revealed

  • Video Games
Complete Coverage