By C. Molly Smith
July 29, 2015 at 07:23 PM EDT
Ari Perilstein/Getty Images; Jon Kopaloff/FilmMagic

The Directors Guild of America announced the recipients of the 2015 DGA Honors.

Ron Howard, Tyler Perry, film editor Thelma Schoonmaker, Senator Chuck Schumer, and Teamsters Local 817 president Thomas J. O’Donnell will be honored at an Oct. 15 gala event, which recognizes those who have made major contributions to American culture through film and television.

“From an influential DGA and Academy Award-winning master filmmaker like Ron Howard, to a multi-hyphenate entertainment powerhouse and Atlanta business leader like Tyler Perry, to a renowned legislator and advocate for production incentives and job creation like Senator Chuck Schumer, DGA Honors recognizes both the visionary artists who create media as well as leaders in government and beyond,” said DGA president Paris Barclay in a press release.

“Our creative work is enriched by invaluable contributions of such craft masters as Thelma Schoonmaker, a trailblazing light in film editing, and labor leaders like Thomas J. O’Donnell, the president of Teamsters Local 817, who represents the fine professional crews that make up the beating heart of each production.”

Past DGA honorees include Nora Ephron, Spike Lee, Martin Scorsese, Law & Order creator and producer Dick Wolf, and Sopranos creator David Chase, among many others. The DGA Honors will be held at the DGA Theater in New York City on Thursday, Oct. 15. 

Related Stories 

Birdman director Alejandro González Iñárritu wins top prize at DGA Awards

Directors Guild nominates Richard Linklater, Wes Anderson; snubs Selma