A Spool Of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

The longlist for the Man Booker prize was released Wednesday morning, marking the second year since the prize was expanded to include all novelists who write in English (Americans were previously excluded).

Perhaps the most notable inclusion is debut novelist Bill Clegg, better known as a U.S. literary agent (he represented Matthew Thomas’s smash hit We Are Not Ourselves) and memoirist. As The Guardian notes, Clegg is famous for “his ruthless negotiating and memoirs recounting his struggles with crack-cocaine and alcohol.” He is nominated this year for Did You Ever Have A Family, which has not yet been published (though this nomination will surely add to the book’s buzz).

Other authors on this year’s longlist include Anne Enright, the only author on the list who has previously won the prize, nominated for The Green Road; Marilynne Robinson, nominated for Lila; Anne Tyler, nominated for A Spool of Blue Thread; and Marlon James, the first Jamaican author to be nominated, for A Brief History of Seven Killings.

The rest of the list is as follows:

  • Andrew O’Hagan – The Illuminations
  • Tom McCarthy – Satin Island
  • Sunjeev Sahota – The Year of the Runaways
  • Laila Lalami – The Moor’s Account
  • Hanya Yanagihara – A Little Life
  • Chigozie Obioma – The Fishermen
  • Anna Smaill – The Chimes
  • Anuradha Roy – Sleeping on Jupiter

Judges for the prize include Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, John Burnside, Sam Leith and Frances Osbourne. The Man Booker prize shortlist will be announced on September 15, and the winner announced on October 13.