By Anthony Breznican
July 10, 2015 at 12:00 PM EDT

Start the fanfare — author Chuck Wendig is getting his own Star Wars trilogy.

In Aftermath, due in stores Sept. 4, the sci-fi/fantasy scribe has penned the history of what happened to the Rebellion after the destruction of the second Death Star in Return of the Jedi. Even though the Emperor was killed and Darth Vader was redeemed, the war was very far from over — and Wendig’s story will be Lucasfilm canon that helps set up J.J. Abrams’ The Force Awakens.

Today Del Rey books has announced Wendig will also write two more books in the series, further bridging the gap between the original movie trilogy and the new one coming in December. 

The titles haven’t been released, and little of the plot of Aftermath is known yet, but the publisher used Wendig’s appearance at Comic-Con today to announce that even though fans don’t know what they’ll be getting … they’ll be getting a lot more of it.

Wendig is known for holding court on pop culture on his blog, and has amassed a passionate cult-fandom from novels such as Blackbirds, about a woman named Miriam Black who can touch people and see how they will die, and The Blue Blazes, about a father and daughter warring in a clash between the criminal underworld and the supernatural realm.


2015 movie
  • Movie
Complete Coverage
Available For Streaming On