By Jessica Goodman
July 08, 2015 at 12:06 PM EDT

With no warning, Talib Kweli released a 10-track collection of rarities and B-sides featuring huge names like Kanye West, Common, Mos Def and Killer Mike. It even includes an unreleased Black Star cut called “Bright As The Stars.”

Titled Train of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases & Beautiful B-Sides Vol. 1., it’s his first major release since 2013’s Gravitas, and includes production work from West, DJ Quik and Hi Tek, who he has worked with since the ’90s. The album is now available to download for $12 on Kweli’s website,


Here’s a tracklist, which notes all the featured artists.

1. Space (produced by Dave West)

2. 2000 Seasons (prod. by Hi Tek)

3. Bright As The Stars – Black Star (prod. by Ayatollah)

4. Wack Niggaz feat. Common, Kanye West & Consequence (prod. by Kanye West)

5. Boomerang- featuring NIKO IS, K’Valentine & Cory Mo (prod. by Cory Mo

6. Ocean Song feat. Mela Machinko (prod. by Rahki)

7. 7:30 feat. RES (prod. by DJ Quik)

8. Fortfied Live feat. Yasiin Bey (fka Mos Def) & Mr. Man (prod. by Hi Tek)

9. Tryin To Breathe feat. Killer Mike (prod. by Midi Mafia)

10. Distractions (prod. by Oh No)

Related Stories

Mos Def and Talib Kweli Are Black Star

See Killer Mike and Talib Kweli speak out about Ferguson