Credit: Noam Galai/Getty Images

Matchbox Twenty frontman Rob Thomas has announced details of his third solo album, The Great Unknown. The record, Thomas’ first since 2009’s Cradlesong, features his wild single “Trust You” and comes out August 21.

Thomas recently caught up with EW and gave some hints about how his new album will sound. “This record is a little bit more like the first solo record that I did,” Thomas said. “When I put together a record I still want to make it kind of diverse. I don’t want it to just feel like it’s a one-trick pony for 12 songs. I try to get a little bit of as many things that I’m kind of into at that time, the different styles.”

For The Great Unknown, Thomas wrote “a fair amount of stuff” but also teamed with a stacked lineup of producers including Matt Serletic (who worked on Thomas classics including “Smooth” and “Lonely No More”), Ricky Reed (Jessie, J, Jason Derulo, Twenty One Pilots), and OneRepublic frontman Ryan Tedder, who collaborated with Thomas for “Trust You.” “It’s kind of all over the place,” Thomas said. “Me kind of farming out the people, just ‘I really like this guy, I really like what you do, and I want to get a little piece of that magic.'”

Thomas is currently touring the U.S. with support provided by Plain White T’s.