Twenty-five years ago, Yo La Tengo released an album mostly made up of covers titled Fakebook—and they’re doing it again with their just-announced upcoming album, Stuff Like That There.

The new record will contain covers of songs from musicians including Hank Williams, The Cure, and The Parliaments. The current quartet (Dave Schramm, who left the band soon after they formed in the ’80s, is back) previewed the album by releasing two songs Monday: First up is “Automatic Doom,” which was originally by a ’90s band called Special Pillows that Yo La Tengo bassist James McNew was part of.

Yo La Tengo’s album announcement came with a new band bio written by Lambchop frontman Kurt Wagner, who wrote, “Stuff Like That There may well be a 25th anniversary sequel to the idea of Fakebook but to my ears it makes a case for simply returning to what moved Yo La Tengo to make things in the first place: embracing the people who they still hold close and making a spirited noise about it.”

Read Wagner’s full bio and see the album’s tracklist here. Stuff Like That There arrives Aug. 28.

Yo La Tengo
  • Music