By Marc Snetiker
Updated April 03, 2015 at 08:15 PM EDT
Joan Marcus


  • Stage

Hamilton, Lin-Manuel Miranda’s hip-hop musical about the life of oft-forgotten founding father Alexander Hamilton, is the unsurprising leader in nominations for the 30th annual Lucille Lortel Awards, which honor the best in Off Broadway theater.

The Public Theater’s smash hit rap retelling of Hamilton’s life leads the way with twelve nominations; the previous record was set just last year, when Here Lies Love (also a Public Theater production) and Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 tied with eleven.

Following Hamilton’s lead in nominations is Fiasco Theater/Roundabout’s revival of Into the Woods (with 7 nods), while Atlantic Theater Company’s Between Riverside and Crazy leads the pack of plays with six. Playwright Terrence McNally will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award, composer Jeanine Tesori will be inducted on the Playwrights’ Sidewalk outside of the Lucille Lortel Theatre, and general manager Nancy Nagel Gibbs will receive the Edith Oliver Service to Off Broadway Award.

Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Anna Chlumsky will host the Lortel Awards ceremony on May 10, 2015 at NYU Skirball Center.

Here’s a partial list of nominees:

Outstanding Play

Between Riverside and Crazy by Stephen Adly Guirgis

Father Comes Home From the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3) by Suzan-Lori Parks

The Invisible Hand by Ayad Akhtar

My Manana Comes by Elizabeth Irwin

The Nether by Jennifer Haley

Outstanding Musical

The Fortress of Solitude by Itamar Moses and Michael Friedman; conceived by Daniel Aukin, based on the novel by Jonathan Lethem

Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda; inspired by the book by Ron Chernow

The Lightning Thief by Rob Rokicki and Joe Tracz; adapted from the book by Rick Riordan

Nevermore – The Imaginary Life and Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe by Jonathan Christenson

Pretty Filthy by Michael Friedman and Bess Wohl; conceived by Steve Cosson, Michael Friedman & Bess Wohl

Outstanding Revival

Fashions for Men by Ferenc Molnar, produced by Mint Theater Company

Indian Ink by Tom Stoppard, produced by Roundabout Theatre Company in association with American Conservatory Theater

Into the Woods by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine, produced by Roundabout Theatre Company in association with McCarter Theatre Center and Fiasco Theater

Sticks and Bones by David Rabe, produced by The New Group

The Wayside Motor Inn by A.R. Gurney, produced by Signature Theatre

Outstanding Solo Show

EVERY BRILLIANT THING by Duncan Macmillan with Jonny Donahoe; performed by Jonny Donahoe

Josephine and I by Cush Jumbo

Just Jim Dale by Jim Dale

The Lion by Benjamin Scheuer

Outstanding Director

Michael Greif, Our Lady of Kibeho

Thomas Kail, Hamilton

Austin Pendleton, Between Riverside and Crazy

Ken Rus Schmoll, The Invisible Hand

Ivo van Hove, Scenes From a Marriage

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play

Usman Ally, The Invisible Hand

Carson Elrod, The Heir Apparent

Stephen McKinley Henderson, Between Riverside and Crazy

Owiso Odera, Our Lady of Kibeho

Bill Pullman, Sticks and Bones

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Grand Concourse

Anna Gunn, Sex With Strangers

Jan Maxwell, The City of Conversation

S. Epatha Merkerson, While I Yet Live

Tonya Pinkins, Rasheeda Speaking

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

Adam Chanler-Berat, The Fortress of Solitude

Claybourne Elder, Allegro

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Hamilton

Leslie Odom Jr., Hamilton

Ben Steinfeld, Into the Woods

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Michelle Knight, DISENCHANTED! The Hilarious Hit Musical

Jennifer Mudge, Into the Woods

Sally Murphy, The Threepenny Opera

Phillipa Soo, Hamilton

Lillias White, Texas in Paris

For the rest of the nominations, click here.

Episode Recaps


  • Stage