Eddie Redmayne, Julianne Moore, J.K. Simmons, and Patricia Arquette take acting prizes; see full list of honorees
Credit: John Shearer/Invision/AP

Birdman, the acclaimed story of an actor battling his own inner demons—which take the form of the comic-book superhero he once played—was named Best Picture at the 2015 Academy Awards. Alexandro G. Iñárritu’s high-wire tragic-comedy, which was filmed in several long cuts and made to feel like one unbroken sequence, won four Oscars with major prizes for Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, and Best Cinematography.

The night’s other big winner was Wes Anderson’s The Grand Budapest Hotel, which tied Birdman with four Oscars. The only other film to win more than one prize was Damien Chazelle’s Whiplash, which took home three awards, including J.K. Simmons’ trophy for Best Supporting Actor.

Simmons, Patricia Arquette, and Julianne Moore seemed like shoo-ins for their acting categories, but the Best Actor race was considered a toss-up between Birdman‘s Michael Keaton and Eddie Redmayne from The Theory of Everything. Redmayne heard his name called, and he gave a gracious speech about the family of Stephen Hawking and those who suffer from ALS. Boyhood, which was the year’s critical darling and considered Birdman‘s biggest competition, had to settle for Arquette’s one prize for Best Supporting Actress.

Best Picture

American Sniper



The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Imitation Game


The Theory of Everything


Best Actress

Marion Cotillard, Two Days One Night

Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything

Julianne Moore, Still Alice-WINNER

Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Best Actor

Steve Carell, Foxcatcher

Bradley Cooper, American Sniper

Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game

Michael Keaton, Birdman

Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything–WINNER

Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette, Boyhood–WINNER

Laura Dern, Wild

Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game

Emma Stone, Birdman

Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

Best Supporting Actor

Robert Duvall, The Judge

Ethan Hawke, Boyhood

Edward Norton, Birdman

Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher

J.K. Simmons, Whiplash–WINNER

Best Director

Alexandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman–WINNER

Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

Best Adapted Screenplay

American Sniper, Jason Hall

The Imitation Game, Graham Moore–WINNER

Inherent Vice, Paul Thomas Anderson

The Theory of Everything, Anthony McCarten

Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

Best Original Screenplay

Birdman, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo–WINNER

Boyhood, Richard Linklater

Foxcatcher, E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness

Nightcrawler, Dan Gilroy

Best Animated Feature

Big Hero 6–WINNER

The Boxtrolls

How to Train Your Dragon 2

Song of the Sea

The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Best Documentary — Feature


Finding Vivien Maier

Last Days of Vietnam

The Salt of the Earth


Best Foreign Language Film

Ida, Poland–WINNER

Leviathan, Russia

Tangerines, Estonia

Timbuktu, Mauritania

Wild Tales, Argentina

Best Original Score

The Grand Budapest Hotel–WINNER

The Imitation Game


Mr. Turner

The Theory of Everything

Best Original Song

“Everything Is Awesome” from The Lego Movie; Music and Lyric by Shawn Patterson

“Glory” from Selma; Music and Lyric by John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn–WINNER

“Grateful” from Beyond the Lights; Music and Lyric by Diane Warren

“I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me; Music and Lyric by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond

“Lost Stars” from Begin Again; Music and Lyric by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois

Best Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman–WINNER

Robert Yeoman, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski, Ida

Dick Pope, Mr. Turner

Roger Deakins, Unbroken

Best Film Editing

Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach, American Sniper

Sandra Adair, Boyhood

Barney Pilling, The Grand Budapest Hotel

William Goldenberg, The Imitation Game

Tom Cross, Whiplash–WINNER

Best Production Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock–WINNER

The Imitation Game, Production Design: Maria Djurkovic; Set Decoration: Tatiana Macdonald

Interstellar, Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Gary Fettis

Into the Woods, Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock

Mr. Turner, Production Design: Suzie Davies; Set Decoration: Charlotte Watts

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard, Foxcatcher

Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier, The Grand Budapest Hotel–WINNER

Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White, Guardians of the Galaxy

Best Costume Design

Milena Canonero, The Grand Budapest Hotel–WINNER

Mark Bridges, Inherent Vice

Colleen Atwood, Into the Woods

Anna B. Sheppard and Jane Clive, Maleficent

Jacqueline Durran, Mr. Turner

Best Animated Short

The Bigger Picture

The Dam Keeper


Me and My Moulton

A Single Life

Best Visual Effects

Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist

Guardians of the Galaxy, Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould

Interstellar, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher–WINNER

X-Men: Days of Future Past, Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer

Best Sound Editing

American Sniper, Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman–WINNER

Birdman, Martín Hernández and Aaron Glascock

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Brent Burge and Jason Canovas

Interstellar, Richard King

Unbroken, Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro

Best Sound Mixing

American Sniper, John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin

Birdman, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga

Interstellar, Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten

Unbroken, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee

Whiplash, Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley–WINNER

Best Documentary—Short

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1–WINNER


Our Curse

The Reaper

White Earth

Best Live Action Short


Boogaloo and Graham

Butter Lamp


The Phone Call–WINNER

In a related video, watch a time-lapse of this year’s red carpet construction:

[CORRECTION: An early version of this story stated that Billy Wilder was the last filmmaker to win Oscars for producing, directing, and writing the same Best Picture. In fact, it has occurred multiple times since Wilder did it for The Apartment, most recently in 2008, when Joel and Ethan Coen won those three categories for No Country for Old Men.]