While some awards seasons favorites continued to win big at 20th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards Thursday night, there were also some pleasant surprises for some of the Oscar snubs. Frontrunner Birdman won big, as did Boyhood and The Grand Budapest Hotel. But it was a night that also saw Obvious Child star Jenny Slate taking home the award for Best Actress in a Comedy and The Lego Movie winning Best Animated Feature. See the list below:

Best Picture


Winner: Boyhood

Gone Girl

The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Imitation Game



The Theory of Everything



Best Actor

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game

Ralph Fiennes – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Jake Gyllenhaal – Nightcrawler

Winner: Michael Keaton – Birdman

David Oyelowo – Selma

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything

Best Actress

Jennifer Aniston – Cake

Marion Cotillard – Two Days, One Night

Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything

Winner: Julianne Moore – Still Alice

Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Reese Witherspoon – Wild

Best Director

Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Ava DuVernay – Selma

David Fincher – Gone Girl

Alejandro G. Inarritu – Birdman

Angelina Jolie – Unbroken

Winner: Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Best Comedy


Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel

St. Vincent

Top Five

22 Jump Street

Best Actress in a Comedy

Rose Byrne – Neighbors

Rosario Dawson – Top Five

Melissa McCarthy – St. Vincent

Winner: Jenny Slate – Obvious Child

Kristen Wiig – The Skeleton Twins

Best Actor in a Comedy

Jon Favreau – Chef

Ralph Fiennes – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Winner: Michael Keaton – Birdman

Bill Murray – St. Vincent

Chris Rock – Top Five

Channing Tatum – 22 Jump Street

Best Supporting Actor

Josh Brolin – Inherent Vice

Robert Duvall – The Judge

Ethan Hawke – Boyhood

Edward Norton – Birdman

Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

Winner: J.K. Simmons – Whiplash

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Jessica Chastain – A Most Violent Year

Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game

Emma Stone – Birdman

Meryl Streep – Into the Woods

Tilda Swinton – Snowpiercer

Best Young Actor/Actress

Winner: Ellar Coltrane – Boyhood

Ansel Elgort – The Fault in Our Stars

Mackenzie Foy – Interstellar

Jaeden Lieberher – St. Vincent

Tony Revolori – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Quvenzhane Wallis – Annie

Noah Wiseman – The Babadook

Best Animated Feature

Big Hero 6

The Book of Life

The Boxtrolls

How to Train Your Dragon 2

Winner: The Lego Movie

Best Action Movie

American Sniper

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Edge of Tomorrow


Winner: Guardians of the Galaxy

Best Acting Ensemble

Winner: Birdman


The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Imitation Game

Into the Woods


Best Actor in an Action Movie

Winner: Bradley Cooper – American Sniper

Tom Cruise – Edge of Tomorrow

Chris Evans – Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Brad Pitt – Fury

Chris Pratt – Guardians of the Galaxy

Best Actress in an Action Movie

Winner: Emily Blunt – Edge of Tomorrow

Scarlett Johansson – Lucy

Jennifer Lawrence – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

Zoe Saldana – Guardians of the Galaxy

Shailene Woodley – Divergent

Best Song

“Big Eyes” – Lana Del Rey – Big Eyes

“Everything Is Awesome” – Jo Li and the Lonely Island – The Lego Movie

Winner: “Glory” – Common/John Legend – Selma

“Lost Stars” – Keira Knightley – Begin Again

“Yellow Flicker Beat” – Lorde – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

Best Score

Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game

Johann Johannsson – The Theory of Everything

Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross – Gone Girl

Winner: Antonio Sanchez – Birdman

Hans Zimmer – Interstellar

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Birdman – Alejandro G. Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr., Armando Bo

Boyhood – Richard Linklater

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson, Hugo Guinness

Nightcrawler – Dan Gilroy

Whiplash – Damien Chazelle

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

The Imitation Game – Graham Moore

Inherent Vice – Paul Thomas Anderson

The Theory of Everything – Anthony McCarten

Unbroken – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen, Richard LaGravenese, William Nicholson

Wild – Nick Hornby

Best Cinematography

Winner: Birdman – Emmanuel Lubezki

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Robert Yeoman

Interstellar – Hoyte Van Hoytema

Mr. Turner – Dick Pope

Unbroken – Roger Deakins

Best Art Direction

Birdman – Kevin Thompson/Production Designer, George DeTitta Jr./Set Decorator

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Adam Stockhausen/Production Designer, Anna Pinnock/Set Decorator

Inherent Vice – David Crank/Production Designer, Amy Wells/Set Decorator

Interstellar – Nathan Crowley/Production Designer, Gary Fettis/Set Decorator

Into the Woods – Dennis Gassner/Production Designer, Anna Pinnock/Set Decorator

Snowpiercer – Ondrej Nekvasil/Production Designer, Beatrice Brentnerova/Set Decorator

Best Editing

Winner: Birdman – Douglas Crise, Stephen Mirrione

Boyhood – Sandra Adair

Gone Girl – Kirk Baxter

Interstellar – Lee Smith

Whiplash – Tom Cross

Best Costume Design

Winner: The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero

Inherent Vice – Mark Bridges

Into the Woods – Colleen Atwood

Maleficent – Anna B. Sheppard

Mr. Turner – Jacqueline Durran

Best Hair and Makeup


Winner: Guardians of the Galaxy

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Into the Woods


Best Visual Effects

Winner: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Edge of Tomorrow

Guardians of the Galaxy

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies


Best Sci-fi/Horror Movie

The Babadook

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Winner: Interstellar


Under the Skin

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: Force Majeure



Two Days, One Night

Wild Tales

Best Documentary Feature


Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me

Jodorowsky’s Dune

Last Days in Vietnam

Winner: Life Itself

The Overnighters