By Teresa Jue
November 04, 2014 at 02:21 PM EST
Niko Tavernise

Darren Aronofsky will be the jury president for the 65th Berlin International Film Festival in 2015.

Aronofsky made his feature film debut in 1998 with Pi, and has since made a slew of critically acclaimed films such as Requiem for a Dream, The Wrestler, and Black Swan. Aronofsky most recently released the sweeping Biblical epic, Noah earlier this year. Jury presidents in previous years have included James Schamus, Wong Kar Wai, and Mike Leigh. The rest of the jury has yet to be announced.

“Darren Aronofsky has distinguished himself as an outstanding protagonist in contemporary auteur cinema. In his artistic approach he consistently sounds out cinematic language and its aesthetic possibilities. I’m pleased to be able to welcome him as jury president of the Berlinale 2015,” said Festival Director Dieter Kosslick, in a statement on Tuesday.

“At the Berlinale, the cinema is always exciting and fascinating. I am looking forward to watching the latest from the greatest in one of the great cities on the planet,” Aronofsky said in a statement.

The Berlin International Film Festival will take place Feb. 5 through Feb. 15.