By Jonathon Dornbush
November 03, 2014 at 07:34 PM EST
Daniel Boczarski/Getty Images
  • Movie

In addition to directing his films, John Carpenter also composed the music for some of his most famous works, including Halloween and Escape from New York. And while the director hasn’t been behind the camera for a few years now, he has been working on a musical project that sounds like it was produced alongside his classic compositions.

Sacred Bones Records announced that it will release Carpenter’s debut solo album, Lost Themes, on Feb. 3, 2015. The first track, “Vortex,” is available to listen to, while the full track list is below.

[soundcloud url="" params="visual=true&show_artwork=true&maxwidth=500&maxheight=750" width="100%" height="400" iframe="true" /]

1. Vortex

2. Obsidian

3. Fallen

4. Domain

5. Mystery

6. Abyss

7. Wraith

8. Purgatory

9. Night

The project was originally thought to have been, as the title suggests, lost work from Carpenter’s previous films, but the album is completely new and original music.

In a release about the album, Carpenter said, “It can be both great and bad to score over images, which is what I’m used to. Here there were no pressures. No actors asking me what they’re supposed to do. No crew waiting. No cutting room to go to. No release pending. It’s just fun.

“It’s a brand new world,” he continued. “And there was nothing in any of our heads when we started other than to make it moody.”

But even with the absence of those limitations, “Vortex” at the very least sounds of apiece  with Carpenter’s previous synth-heavy work. And to see how well it fits in with his films, Sacred Bones has set the song to clips from Carptenter’s cinematic history.