The Walking Dead Descent

After collaborating on four novels already, Walking Dead creator Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga are teaming up again for another four book Walking Dead series, the first of which is titled Descent and will be released by Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin’s Press on Oct. 14. And we’ve got the exclusive first look at the cover for you right here. (Zombies in a tunnel are always a scary sight…unless Maggie Greene is around, I suppose.)

The new novel will feature Lilly Caul — a character from the original comic book whose arrival at Woodbury was chronicled in previous book The Road to Woodbury — as she returns to the town and attempts to rebuild it after the Governor’s failed assault on the prison. Good luck with that!

For his part, Kirkman is excited to be expanding the universe even more, even as the title of the book expands to Robert Kirkman’s The Walking Dead: Descent by Jay Bonansinga. “I’m thrilled to be working with Jay Bonansinga on more novels,” says Kirkman. “There is quite a bit of unexplored territory left in the Walking Dead universe and I think people are going to love what Jay brings to this world in this medium.” And he will be bringing it on Oct 14.

For more ‘Walking Dead’ intel, follow Dalton on Twitter:

Episode Recaps

The Walking Dead

AMC's zombie thriller, based on the classic comic book serial created by Robert Kirkman.

  • TV Show
  • 11
stream service