Stephen Lovekin/WireImage
July 27, 2017 at 07:21 AM EDT

Canada’s Juno Awards got the party started early, naming Arcade Fire, Drake, and Serena Ryder big winners ahead of Sunday’s televised ceremony.

During a dinner gala on Saturday, indie rockers Arcade Fire won alternative album of the year for Reflektor, while Drake picked up rap recording of the year for Nothing Was The Same. The Canadian music awards honored Serena Ryder as artist of the year.

Other early winners include Tegan and Sara, who scored pop album of the year for Heartthrob, and Matt Mays, whose Coyote grabbed rock album of the year. Country crooner Brett Kissel was named breakthrough artist of the year.

Arcade Fire leads all artists with six nominations. Ryder is poised to take home four more trophies, while Michael Buble — who lost two early categories — is still nominated for three others. Tegan and Sara could also scoop up three more wins. Drake, Celine Dion and Hedley remain double nominees.

Major categories to be handed out Sunday include album, group, single, and songwriter of the year. Competing for the Juno Fan Choice Award are Arcade Fire, Drake, Dion, Buble, Ryder, Hedley, Justin Bieber, Avril Lavigne, Robin Thicke, and Walk Off the Earth.

The 2014 Junos, held in Winnipeg, will be hosted by Ryder, Classified and Johnny Reid and air on CTV.

You May Like