Whiplash, director Damien Chazelle’s story of a young jazz drummer, took home both the U.S. Grand Jury and Audience Dramatic awards at the Sundance Film Festival awards Saturday night. The film grew out of a short from Chazelle that won the Short Film Jury Award at Sundance in 2013.

Rich Hill, a story about a community in rural Missouri, won the U.S. Documentary Grand Jury award and Alive Inside: A Story of Music & Memory, about how music can help dementia patients, won the U.S. Audience Documentary award. Co-screenwriters Craig Johnson and Mark Heyman were honored with the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award for The Skeleton Twins, starring Bill Hader and Kristen Wiig. Cutter Hodierne won the U.S. Dramatic Award for Direction for Fishing Without Nets, his first feature film. The Prop 8 documentary The Case Against 8 brought home the U.S. Documentary Award for Direction for directors Ryan White and Ben Cotner. The Angelina Jolie-produced film about Ethiopia, Difret, won the Audience Award in the World Dramatic Competition.

Husband and wife hosts Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally brought the sexual innuendo and a ukulele to the ceremony in Park City, Utah, where this year’s crop of 186 independent films were celebrated. Presenters included Felicity Huffman, William H. Macy, Tracy Chapman, and film critic Leonard Maltin.

Check out the full list of winner’s below. You can also watch the replay of the awards ceremony, which streamed live on YouTube.

U. S. Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic


U. S. Grand Jury Prize: Documentary

Rich Hill

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic

To Kill a Man

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Documentary

Return to Homs

Audience Award: U. S. Dramatic presented by Acura


Audience Award: U.S. Documentary presented by Acura

Alive Inside: A Story of Music & Memory

Audience Award: World Cinema Dramatic


Audience Award: World Cinema: Documentary

The Green Prince

Audience Award: Best of NEXT

Imperial Dreams

Directing Award: U. S. Dramatic

Fishing Without Nets / Cutter Hodierne

Directing Award: U. S. Documentary

The Case Against 8 / Ben Cotner & Ryan White

Directing Award: World Cinema Dramatic

52 Tuesdays / Sophie Hyde

Directing Award: World Cinema Documentary

20,000 Days on Earth / Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard

Cinematography Award: U. S. Dramatic

Low Down / Christopher Blauvelt

Cinematography Award: U. S. Documentary

E-TEAM / Ross Kauffman & Rachel Beth Anderson

Cinematography Award: World Cinema Dramatic

Lilting / Ula Pontikos

Cinematography Award: World Cinema Documentary

Happiness / Thomas Balmès & Nina Bernfeld

U. S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Talent

Dear White People / Justin Simien

U. S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Musical Score

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter / The Octopus Project

U. S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Intuitive Filmmaking

The Overnighters

U. S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Use of Animation

Watchers of the Sky

World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Ensemble Performance

God Help the Girl

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Cinematic Bravery

We Come as Friends

Editing Award: U. S. Documentary

Watchers of the Sky

Editing Award: World Cinema Documentary

20,000 Days on Earth

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: U.S. Dramatic

The Skeleton Twins / Craig Johnson & Mark Heyman

Screenwriting Award: World Cinema Dramatic

Blind / Eskil Vogt

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize

I Origins

Short Film Grand Jury Prize

Of God and Dogs

Short Film Jury Award: US Fiction

Gregory Go Boom

Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction

The Cut

Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction

I Think This is the Closest to How the Footage Looked

Short Film Jury Award: Animation


Short Film Special Jury Award for Unique Vision

Rat Pack Rat

Short Film Special Jury Award for Non-Fiction

Love. Love. Love.

Short Film Special Jury Award for Direction and Ensemble Acting


Short Film Audience Award, Presented by YouTube

Chapel Perilous

  • Movie
  • 105 minutes