By Shirley Li
Updated September 19, 2013 at 02:51 PM EDT

The National Book Foundation released today its longlist in Fiction for this year’s National Book Award. Among the authors are former National Book Award winners and finalists, a Pulitzer Prize winner and a debut novelist.

Below is the complete list:

Pacific by Tom Drury

The End of the Point by Elizabeth Graver

The Flamethrowers by Rachel Kushner

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthona Marra

The Good Lord Bird by James McBride

Someone by Alice McDermott

Bleeding Edge by Thomas Pynchon

Tenth of December by George Saunders

Fools by Joan Silber

Finalists will be announced October 16.