Credit: Christopher Polk/Getty Images; Ethan Miller/Getty Images; Ian Gavan/Getty Images

Angelina Jolie, Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin and costume designer Piero Tosi are the year’s first Oscar winners.

Each has been selected by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences to receive the honorary Governors Awards.

Jolie will receive the The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, which is given “to an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.” In addition to her longtime work with the United Nations and Council on Foreign Relations as an advocate for refugees, she helped raise breast cancer awareness after opening up about her recent preventative double mastectomy, among other causes and charities.

Martin, Lansbury, and Tosi are being recognized for their screen work. Despite acclaimed work in films such as Parenthood, Roxanne, and L.A. Story, Martin has never been nominated as either an actor or a writer, while Lansbury has three supporting actress nods — 1944’s Gaslight, 1945’s The Picture of Dorian Gray, and 1962’s The Manchurian Candidate — but no wins.

Tosi has also never won, although he has had five costume design nominations — 1963’s The Leopard, 1971’s Death in Venice, 1972’s Ludwig, 1978’s La Cage aux Folles, and 1982’s La traviata.

These awards are presented by the Academy’s Board of Governors for “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement.” Last year’s recipients were stuntman Hal Needam, documentarian D.A. Pennebaker, American Film Institute founder George Stevens, Jr., and DreamWorks Animation chief Jeffrey Katzenberg.

The awards will be presented at a Nov. 16 ceremony at the Hollywood & Highland Center, just next door to the Dolby Theatre, where the Oscars will be hosted by Ellen Degeneres on March 2. The Governors Awards will not air live, but will be recorded and excerpted on the later telecast.

The honorees were selected two nights ago, but the news was withheld until now because the Academy had difficulty reaching one of the recipients . (They haven’t said which one.)