By Sarah Caldwell
April 04, 2013 at 08:56 PM EDT

Acclaimed film critic Roger Ebert died Thursday. Actors, directors, and reporters have tweeted their love and admiration for the Pulitzer Prize-winning writer after hearing the news.

Roger, I hope you’re in an infinite movie palace, watching every film the great directors only dreamed of making. RIP, @ebertchicago

— Patton Oswalt (@pattonoswalt) April 4, 2013

I started watching/reading @ebertchicago in 1984. He was a good man & a fierce advocate for great film. #RIPEbert

— RainnWilson (@rainnwilson) April 4, 2013

Shocked and truly, deeply saddened at the loss of the great Roger Ebert. A legend. His voice will be missed.

— Anna Kendrick (@AnnaKendrick47) April 4, 2013

Sad to hear about Roger Ebert passing away. RIP kind sir. I give your life two enthusiastic

— Dane Cook (@DaneCook) April 4, 2013

Roger Ebert R.I.P. See you at the movies.

— Michael Ian Black (@michaelianblack) April 4, 2013

Goodbye to one of the greats, Roger Ebert. Even when I disagreed with him I loved his writing and his passion. Rest in peace.

— Ike Barinholtz (@ikebarinholtz) April 4, 2013

RIP Ebert. You inspired my joy for film with your contagious enthusiasm and spirit.

— Josh Gad (@joshgad) April 4, 2013

Roger Ebert was an excellent writer, a gifted artist, and as nice a guy as you’ll ever meet.Sad he’s gone.

— Jimmy Kimmel (@jimmykimmel) April 4, 2013

R.I.P. Roger Ebert. It was a privilege to interact with you. Thank you for the support, the criticism, and the true love for the movies.

— Diablo Cody (@diablocody) April 4, 2013

Roger Ebert was an ongoing inspiration (if not always a fan) to me and I am truly truly saddened by his loss. I will miss him.

— David Wain (@davidwain) April 4, 2013

Roger Ebert. Millions of thumbs up for you. RIP

— Michael Moore (@MMFlint) April 4, 2013

Reading Roger Ebert’s reviews as a kid was instrumental in determining what I did w my life. He will be sorely missed.

— Justin Long (@justinlong) April 4, 2013

HULK HAS NO WORDS… WHICH IS A SHAME BECAUSE EBERT ALWAYS SEEMED TO HAVE ALL THE RIGHT ONES.

— FILM CRIT HULK (@FilmCritHULK) April 4, 2013

Thanks Mr. Ebert.

— Steve Carell (@SteveCarell) April 4, 2013

RIP and goodbye Roger Ebert. You sent me such nice emails over the years. I loved your twitter feed, enjoyed your reviews. Thank you.

— Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) April 4, 2013

we lost a thoughtful writer, i remember my first review from him, pi (i got his and siskel’s thumbs) it was a career highlight. #rogerebert

— darren aronofsky (@DarrenAronofsky) April 4, 2013

R.I.P. Roger Ebert. One of the greats in his field. I’m very sad.

— Albert Brooks (@AlbertBrooks) April 4, 2013

We join the world in deep sadness at the loss of a true champion of film, Roger Ebert. His true love of artists was as giant as his talent.

— SundanceFilmFestival (@sundancefest) April 4, 2013

Ebert was singular. We are all in his shadow and his debt.

— a. o. scott (@aoscott) April 4, 2013

Roger Ebert – an uncynical lover of the movies.Two thumbs pointing up to the sky.

— Marc Webb (@MarcW) April 4, 2013

Very sad to hear of the death of Roger Ebert, one of the great public intellectuals in American history.

— John Green (@realjohngreen) April 4, 2013

Rest in Peace, Roger Ebert.You were a gentleman.Sometimes loved my movies, sometimes hated them, but you were always fair.

— Chris Weitz (@chrisweitz) April 4, 2013

All my love to Chaz Ebert as we mourn the loss of Roger. He had an indomitable spirit & was one of the gutsiest people I knew. RIP my friend

— Leonard Maltin (@leonardmaltin) April 4, 2013

Roger Ebert.Clear-eyed dreamer, king of the written word… say.ly/bRt5wg3

— Cameron Crowe (@CameronCrowe) April 4, 2013

If cancer came to take me piece by piece,I hope I could summon even a fraction of the grace Roger Ebert showed us, in such abundance

— mia farrow (@MiaFarrow) April 4, 2013

RIP Roger Ebert – whose great love of cinema inspired us all. He will be missed.

— zooey deschanel (@ZooeyDeschanel) April 4, 2013

Roger Ebert will be missed. One of the few critics who had actually written films.His opinion always mattered to me.He was the greatest.

— Seth MacFarlane (@SethMacFarlane) April 5, 2013

Mourning the loss of the Roger Ebert

— kerry washington (@kerrywashington) April 4, 2013

RIP Roger Ebert. We’ve lost a passionate and broad minded force for cinema of all shapes sizes and genres. A fine courageous writer and man

— Ron Howard (@RealRonHoward) April 4, 2013

Read more:

Roger Ebert to take a ‘leave of presence’ due to cancer’s return

Advertisement

Comments

EDIT POST