By Stephan Lee
Updated March 11, 2013 at 02:30 PM EDT

Middle Grade

  • Book

Before The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins not only wrote for TV shows like Clarissa Explains It All and The Mystery Files of Shelby Woo, but she also dreamed up another literary world for a slightly younger set of readers with The Underland Chronicles. The five-book fantasy series follows Gregor, a boy who discovers an underground city that’s home to giant spiders, bats, rats, and cockroaches as he finds himself on a search for his missing father. Like The Hunger Games, Gregor’s adventures explore larger themes, like war, biological warfare, and even genocide. If you missed The Underland Chronicles the first time around, you can get a new edition this summer, and EW has the first look at the cover art. Click through to see more!

FIRST UP: Book One, Gregor the Overlander

Gregor the Overlander

NEXT: Book Two, Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane

Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane

NEXT: Book Three, Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods

NEXT: Book Four, Gregor and the Marks of Secret

NEXT: Book Five, Gregor and the Code of Claw

Follow @EWStephanLee on Twitter.

Read more:

‘Hunger Games’ author Suzanne Collins’ next book: ‘Year of the Jungle’

Katniss wears the crown: ‘Hunger Games’ supplants ‘Harry Potter’ as best selling-series on Amazon

Episode Recaps

Middle Grade

  • Book