By Associated Press
February 13, 2013 at 04:09 PM EST

They don’t call him Chief for nothing: Eric Church is the top nominee at this year’s Academy of Country Music Awards.

The rising country music star has seven nominations for the April 7 awards show in Las Vegas. Hunter Hayes is next with six, followed by Taylor Swift and Miranda Lambert at five apiece.

Swift and Lambert are up for the academy’s top honor — entertainer of the year — with Lambert’s husband, Blake Shelton, Jason Aldean and Luke Bryan. Swift is going for her third straight win in that category.

Shelton and Bryan will co-host the broadcast, to air live on CBS from the MGM Grand.

Along with naming nominees in a series of videos online Wednesday morning, the academy also awarded trophies in the three new artist categories. Jana Kramer is the new female vocalist of the year, Brantley Gilbert is the new male vocalist winner and Florida Georgia Line took new vocal duo or group, as voted by fans. Those three acts will now compete for new artist of the year.

Fans will continue to have a say in that category and entertainer of the year. Fans can vote in those categories beginning March 25 at

Church’s Chief is up for album of the year along with Swift’s Red, Bryan’s tailgates & tanlines, Carrie Underwood’s Blown Away and Little Big Town’s Tornado. Jay Joyce scored a rare double in the category: He produced the Church and Little Big Town albums and will take home a trophy if either wins. He’s also up for producer of the year.

Church is also up for male vocalist of the year with 2012 winner Shelton, Bryan, Aldean and Toby Keith. Lambert will be going for her fourth straight female vocalist of the year award with Swift, Underwood, Martina McBride and Kacey Musgraves, a newcomer who earned four nominations.

Others with four nominations include Bryan and Little Big Town. That quartet is up for vocal group of the year with Lady Antebellum, which has won the award three straight times, Zac Brown Band, Eli Young Band and The Band Perry.

Surprise 2012 vocal duo winner Thompson Square is nominated in that category again along with Sugarland, Big & Rich, Florida Georgia Line, and Love and Theft.

Church also is nominated in the song and single of the year categories for “Springsteen.” Lambert’s “Over You,” Hayes’ “Wanted,” Eli Young Band’s “Even If It Breaks Your Heart” and Lee Brice’s “A Woman Like You” round out the song of the year category.

Lambert, EYB and Hayes join Church in the single of the year category with LBT’s “Pontoon.”

Entertainer of the Year

    •    Jason Aldean

    •    Luke Bryan

    •    Miranda Lambert

    •    Blake Shelton

    •    Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year

    •    Jason Aldean

    •    Luke Bryan

    •    Eric Church

    •    Toby Keith

    •    Blake Shelton

Female Vocalist of the Year

    •    Miranda Lambert

    •    Martina McBride

    •    Kacey Musgraves

    •    Taylor Swift

    •    Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year

    •    Big & Rich

    •    Florida Georgia Line

    •    Love and Theft

    •    Sugarland

    •    Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year

    •    The Band Perry

    •    Eli Young Band

    •    Lady Antebellum

    •    Little Big Town

    •    Zac Brown Band

New Male Vocalist of the Year

    •    Lee Brice

    •    Brantley Gilbert

    •    Hunter Hayes

New Female Vocalist of the Year

    •    Jana Kramer

    •    Kacey Musgraves

    •    Sunny Sweeney

New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year

    •    Florida Georgia Line

    •    Love and Theft

    •    Thompson Square

New Artist of the Year Presented by Kohl’s Department Stores (Winners of New Male, New Female & New Vocal Duo of Group of the Year)

    •    Florida Georgia Line

    •    Brantley Gilbert

    •    Jana Kramer

Album of the Year (Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company)

    •    Blown Away — Carrie Underwood (19/Arista Nashville)
 Produced by: Mark Bright

    •    Chief — Eric Church (EMI-Nashville) 
Produced by: Jay Joyce

    •    Red — Taylor Swift (Big Machine Records)
 Produced by: Jeff Bhasker, Nathan Chapman, Dann Huff, Jacknife Lee, Max Martin, Shellback, Taylor Swift, Butch Walker, Dan Wilson

    •    Tailgates & Tanlines — Luke Bryan (Capitol Nashville)
 Produced by: Mark Bright, Jeff Stevens

    •    Tornado — Little Big Town (Capitol Nashville)
 Produced by: Jay Joyce

Single Record of the Year (Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company)

    •    “Even If It Breaks Your Heart” — Eli Young Band (Republic Nashville)
 Produced by: Mike Wrucke

    •    “Over You” — Miranda Lambert (RCA)
 Produced by: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf

    •    “Pontoon” — Little Big Town (Capitol Nashville) 
Produced by: Jay Joyce

    •    “Springsteen” — Eric Church (EMI-Nashville)
 Produced by: Jay Joyce

    •    “Wanted” — Hunter Hayes (Atlantic/WMN)
 Produced by: Hunter Hayes, Dann Huff

Song of the Year (Award to Composer(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s))

    •    “A Woman Like You” — Lee Brice
; Composers: Phil Barton, Johnny Bulford, Jon Stone
; Publishers: 3JB Music (BMI), Adios Pantalones (SESAC), Hears That Skyline Music (SESAC), Sixteen Stars Music (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

    •    “Even If It Breaks Your Heart” — Eli Young Band
; Composers: Will Hoge, Eric Paslay
; Publishers: Cal IV Songs (ASCAP), Will Hoge Music (BMI)

    •    “Over You” — Miranda Lambert
; Composers: Miranda Lambert, Blake Shelton
; Publishers: Pink Dog Publishing (BMI), Sony ATV/Tree Publishing (BMI)

    •    “Springsteen” — Eric Church; 
Composers: Eric Church, Jeff Hyde, Ryan Tyndell
; Publishers: Bug Music (BMI), Ole Purple Cape Music (BMI), Sinnerlina (BMI), Sony ATV/Tree Publishing (BMI)

    •    “Wanted” — Hunter Hayes; 
Composers: Hunter Hayes, Troy Verges
; Publishers: Happy Little Man Publishing (BMI), Songs From The Engine Room (BMI), Songs Of Universal Inc. (BMI)

Songwriter of the Year *(Off Camera Award)

    •    Rodney Clawson

    •    Dallas Davidson

    •    Josh Kear

    •    Luke Laird

    •    Shane McAnally

Video of the Year (Award to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)) *(Off Camera Award) (TIE)

    •    “Creepin'” – Eric Church; 
Producer: Iris Baker
Director: Peter Zavadil

    •    “Merry Go ‘Round” — 
Kacey Musgraves; Producer: Perry Bean, Kacey Musgraves
; Director: Perry Bean

    •    “Tornado” — Little Big Town; 
Producer: Iris Baker
; Director: Shane Drake

    •    “Wanted” — Hunter Hayes
; Producer: Stephanie Reeves, Eric Williams; 
Director: Traci Goudie, Patrick Hubik

    •    “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” — Taylor Swift
; Producer: John Nguyen
; Director: Declan Whitebloom

    •    “The Wind” — Zac Brown Band; 
Producer: Ben Kalina; 
Director: Mike Judge

Vocal Event of the Year (Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company) *(Off Camera Award)

    •    Don’t Rush – Kelly Clarkson Featuring Vince Gill (19/RCA/Columbia Nashville); 
Produced by: Dann Huff

    •    Easy – Rascal Flatts Featuring Natasha Bedingfield (Big Machine Records)
; Produced by: Dann Huff, Brian Kennedy, Rascal Flatts

    •    Feel Like A Rock Star – Kenny Chesney (Duet With Tim McGraw) (Blue Chair/BNA); 
Produced by: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney

    •    Let It Rain – David Nail Featuring Sarah Buxton (MCA Nashville)
; Produced by: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell

    •    The Only Way I Know – Aldean With Luke Bryan & Eric Church (Broken Bow)
; Produced by: Michael Knox