By Maane Khatchatourian
December 17, 2012 at 12:00 PM EST

David O. Russell’s dramedy Silver Linings Playbook took home top honors last night at the 17th annual Satellite Awards, presented by the International Press Academy.

The film received five awards: best motion picture, best director for Russell, best actor and actress for stars Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, and best editing for Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers.

Anne Hathaway won best actress in a supporting role for her portrayal of Fantine in Les Misérables, while Javier Bardem won best actor in a supporting role for his Bond baddie in Skyfall. In the writing categories, Mark Boal received the best original screenplay award for Zero Dark Thirty, while David Magee received the best adapted screenplay award for Life of Pi.

The theme of a single entity sweeping all major categories continued on the TV side. Homeland and The Big Bang Theory received top prizes with three awards each, including best series and best actor and actress in their respective categories. Damian Lewis and Claire Danes won for Homeland, while Johnny Galecki and Kaley Cuoco won for Big Bang.

Here’s the complete list of winners:


Motion Picture: Silver Linings Playbook

Actress in a Motion Picture: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Actor in a Motion Picture: Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook

Actress in a Supporting Role: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables

Actor in a Supporting Role: Javier Bardem, Skyfall

Director: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Motion Picture, International Film: The Intouchables, Pieta (tie)

Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media: Rise of the Guardians

Motion Picture, Documentary: Chasing Ice

Original Screenplay: Mark Boal, Zero Dark Thirty

Adapted Screenplay: David Magee, Life of Pi

Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Life Of Pi

Best Production Design: Rick Carter, Curt Beech, David Crank, and Leslie McDonald, Lincoln

Best Costume Design: Manon Rasmussen, A Royal Affair

Best Film Editing: Jay Cassidy, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Original Score: Alexandre Desplat, Argo

Best Original Song: “Suddenly,” Les Misérables

Best Visual Effects: Flight


Best Drama: Homeland

Best Actress in a Drama Series: Claire Danes, Homeland

Best Actor in a Drama Series: Damian Lewis, Homeland

Best Genre: Walking Dead

Best Comedy: The Big Bang Theory

Best Actress in a Comedy Series: Kaley Cuoco, The Big Bang Theory

Best Actor in a Comedy Series: Johnny Galecki, The Big Bang Theory

Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Hatfields & McCoys

Best Actress in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Julianne Moore, Game Change

Best Actor in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock

Best Supporting Actress in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey

Best Supporting Actor in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Neal McDonough, Justified

Outstanding Contribution to the Entertainment Industry: Terence Stamp

Nikola Tesla Award: Walter Murch

Auteur Award: Paul Williams

Honorary Satellite Award: Bruce Davison

Newcomer Award: Quvenzhane Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Humanitarian Award: Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Read more:

25 Movies To Watch Before Oscar Night

Golden Globes breakdown: Oscar certainties, surprises and snubs

Golden Globes: TV snubs and surprises