By Adam B. Vary
Updated November 01, 2012 at 05:33 PM EDT
Aby Baker/Getty Images

The Hunger Games

  • Movie

Lionsgate announced on Thursday that The Hunger Games: Catching Fire director Francis Lawrence will remain with the franchise and direct parts 1 and 2 of The Hunger Games: Mockingjay.

The announcement means Lawrence, who’s been shooting Catching Fire since September, will have helmed three out of the four feature adaptations of Suzanne Collins’ best-selling YA novel series. The filmmaker, previously best known for 2007’s Will Smith thriller I Am Legend, stepped in to direct Catching Fire after The Hunger Games director Gary Ross left the franchise, citing concerns that the sequel’s production schedule was moving too quickly. (Catching Fire has been slated for a Nov. 22, 2013 release since Aug. 2011.)

Mockingjay Part 1 and 2 concludes the saga of Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) and her struggle against the autocratic government of Panem. Danny Strong (HBO’s Game Change and Recount) will be adapting Collins’ single book into the two separate films, which are scheduled to hit theaters on Nov. 21, 2014, and Nov. 20, 2015, respectively. Co-stars Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Sam Claflin, Jena Malone, and Donald Sutherland are all expected to return.

Follow @adambvary

Read more:

‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ begins shooting in Georgia, before moving to Hawaii

Where could ‘Mockingjay’ be split into two parts?

‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’: Meet the Cast!

Episode Recaps

The Hunger Games

  • Movie
  • PG-13