By James Hibberd
August 01, 2012 at 07:20 PM EDT

Ryan Murphy is changing the title of American Horror Story for season two.

The second round will be called…

American Horror Story: The Miniseries.


It’s American Horror Story: Asylum.

Season two is set in 1964 and stars Jessica Lange, Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters, Lily Rabe, Zachary Quinto, James Cromwell, and Joseph Fiennes. “When we launched the show last year, we kept quiet about the closed-ended nature of the show because we didn’t want to tip off the audience that the characters were not going to survive,” sad co-creator and executive producer Murphy. “Now that it has been established that each year is a closed-ended story, the time seemed right to reveal what we’re calling the new installment. … We picked Asylum because it not only describes the setting – an insane asylum run by Jessica Lange’s character which was formerly a tuberculosis ward – but also signifies a place of haven for the unloved and the unwanted. This year’s theme is about sanity and tackling real life horrors.”

The strategy is similar to Starz’ Spartacus, which uses a different subtitle for every season as well. American Horror Story returns to FX in October.

PREVIOUS: FX president: Damn straight ‘American Horror Story’ is a miniseries!

An anthology series that centers on different characters and locations, including a haunted house, an insane asylum, a witch coven, a freak show, and a hotel.
  • TV Show
  • 8
  • 94
  • TV-MA
run date
  • 10/17/12
Available For Streaming On
Complete Coverage