By Jeff Labrecque
April 25, 2012 at 06:58 PM EDT
Landmark/PR Photos

Ewan McGregor, Alexander Payne, and Diane Kruger will be part of the competition jury headed by Italian filmmaker Nanni Moretti (We Have a Pope) at the 65th Cannes Film Festival in May. Organizers announced today that the trio would be joined by Palestinian actress-director Hiam Abbass, British filmmaker Andrea Arnold (Fish Tank), French actress Emmanuelle Devos, Jean Paul Gaultier, and Haitian filmmaker Raoul Peck.

The jury will judge the 22 films in competition and award the Palme d’Or. Last year’s big winner was Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life and this year’s in-competition slate includes Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom and David Cronenberg’s Cosmopolis.

Read more:

Cannes Festival announces 2012 line-up

Cannes selects Marilyn image to celebrate 65th annual festival