Alan Jackson

The ACM Awards will air live from Las Vegas on April 1 on CBS, but a number of special awards have already been announced off camera. Among those who will be feted at a separate event this September in Nashville:

— Kenny Chesney, who is only the third recipient of the Crystal Milestone Award, following Garth Brooks and Sugarland's Jennifer Nettles. Chesney has sold more than 10,500,000 tickets on his 11 national tours.

— Alan Jackson, who receives the Jim Reeves International Award, which is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world. Fun fact: His album Good Time has earned platinum sales in Norway, where he played in August 2011.

Vince Gill, who receives the Career Achievement Award, which is presented to an artist who has advanced the popularity and acceptance of country music at home, which Gill did while promoting his 2011 album Guitar Slinger.

— Emmylou HarrisBilly SherrillRicky Skaggs, and Dwight Yoakam, who receive the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award honoring individuals who are pioneers in the country-music genre.

— Bobby Braddock and "King of the Road" Roger Miller, who receive the Poet's Award, which honors songwriters for career achievements. Among Braddock's hits: George Jones' "He Stopped Loving Her Today" and Billy Currington's "People Are Crazy."

— Dallas Davidson, who's been named Songwriter of the Year. Among his recent No. 1's: Luke Bryan's "I Don't Want This Night to End" and "Country Girl (Shake It for Me)" and Lady Antebellum's "We Owned the Night" and "Just a Kiss."

Read more:

Academy of Country Music Awards
  • TV Show

Comments have been disabled on this post