Hunger Games 2
Credit: Murray Close

The British Board of Film Classification has mandated that seven seconds of cuts be made for the U.K. distribution of The Hunger Games, in order for the film to receive a 12A rating (the British equivalent of the MPAA’s PG-13).

According to the BBFC’s official listing for the movie, seven seconds were cut at the request of distributor Lionsgate UK to remove “an emphasis on blood and injury” in order to lower the rating and attract younger audiences to the film.

Details of the cuts requested by the distributor were as follows (POTENTIAL SPOILER ALERT):

With the cuts, Lionsgate UK was able to release the film as 12A, as opposed to 15, with the consumer warning: “Contains intense threat, moderate violence and occasional gory moments.”

The film, starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, and Liam Hemsworth, will be released on March 23.

Read more:

The Hunger Games

  • Movie
  • PG-13
  • Gary Ross