Out of 107 qualified submissions, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced 10 finalists that will advance to the next round of voting for the Best Live-Action Short Film Oscar. Out of these, three to five will ultimately be nominated for the Academy Award.

Ironically, actor John Hurt stars in two of the finalists: the British shorts Love at First Sight and Sailcloth. Also among the finalists is The Shore, written and directed by the Oscar-nominated filmmaker Terry George (Hotel Rwanda) and starring Ciarán Hinds.

The 10 finalists (with links to trailers when available) are:

Love at First Sight — Michael Davies and Sandra Gorel

Pentecost — Peter McDonald

Raju — Max Zähle and Stefan Gieren

The Road Home — Rahul Gandotra and Ameenah Ayub

The Roar of the Sea — Ana Rocha Fernandes and Torsten Truscheit

Sailcloth — Elfar Adalsteins

The Shore — Terry George

Time Freak — Andrew Bowler and Gigi Causey

Tuba Atlantic — Hallvar Witzø