By Lanford Beard
Updated November 23, 2011 at 04:14 PM EST

Ralph Fiennes and Kenneth Branagh will be the recipients of two prestigious awards at next month’s British Independent Film Awards. Fiennes — who makes his directorial debut with next month’s Coriolanus — will receive the Richard Harris Award, which has gone to fellow Brit actors John Hurt, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, and Helena Bonham Carter. Thor director and noted Shakespearean enthusiast Branagh will be honored with the Variety Award for raising British cinema’s profile internationally. Past Variety recipients have included Michael Caine, J.K. Rowling, Helen Mirren, and Keira Knightley.

The British Independent Film Awards will be held in London on Dec. 4. Sex addiction drama Shame, political thriller Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, and Paddy Considine’s directorial debut Tyrannosaur will battle it out for the top prizes.

Read more:

‘Coriolanus’ trailer: Ralph Fiennes gives Shakespeare the ‘Hurt Locker’ treatment

Kenneth Branagh talks ‘My Week With Marilyn,’ working with Michelle Williams, and ‘Thor 2’

‘Shame’ trailer: Carey Mulligan sings, Michael Fassbender sleeps around