Credit: Mark Humphrey/AP Images

The fates of Nucky Thompson and the rest of the bootlegging gangsters who inhabit the world of HBO’s Emmy-nominated drama Boardwalk Empire will continue to unfold when the show returns for a second season on September 25.

To properly prepare yourself for the new episodes, EW suggests you make yourself a healthy batch of bathtub gin and settle in with Boardwalk Empire Volume 1 – Music From the HBO Original Series, the show’s official soundtrack album set to be released on September 13.

The 16-track collection features a sharp cross-section of tunes from the show, including contributions from Loudon Wainwright III, Nellie McKay, Leon Redbone, Martha Wainwright, and Vince Giordano and the Nighthawks (the contemporary jazz combo who also serve as the house band at Babette’s Supper Club on the show).

It also includes New York songbird Regina Spektor’s version of “My Man,” a tune initially made famous by Fanny Brice (who would later be immortalized as the subject of the musical Funny Girl). You can hear the exclusive premiere of Spektor’s song after the jump.


1. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks – Livery Stable Blues

2. Stephen DeRosa – The Dumber They Come The Better I Like Them

3. Regina Spektor – My Man

4. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks – Dark Town Strutters Ball

5. Catherine Russell – Crazy Blues

6. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks – Mournin’ Blues

7. Kathy Brier – Some Of These Days

8. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks – Margie

9. Loudon Wainwright III – Carrickfergus

10. Nellie McKay – Wild Romantic Blues

11. Kathy Brier – After You Get What You Want (You Don’t Want It)

12. Leon Redbone – Sheik of Araby

13. Vince Giordano And The Nighthawks – Japanese Sandman

14. Kathy Brier- Don’t Put a Tax On the Beautiful Girls

15. Martha Wainwright – All By Myself

16. Stephen DeRosa – Life Is A Funny Proposition


Episode Recaps

Boardwalk Empire
Steve Buscemi stars in HBO’s sprawling Prohibition drama set in Atlantic City.
  • TV Show
  • 5