Meredith has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Meredith may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links.
Credit: Jonze: Mark Von Holden/

Image Credit: Jonze: Mark Von Holden/WireImage.comDid you hear that booming sound? That’s the sound of alt-star dark matter collapsing in on itself in a spasm of hipness so dense, it steals all the light from the universe—or at least, Echo Park.

We are speaking, of course, of the end of the Cathy comic strip.

Hilarity! Just kidding. Actually, music video director turned indie film auteur Spike Jonze has a new movie, and he’s corralled a host of Pitchfork-y friends to provide the soundtrack: Among them, Animal Collective, Sleigh Bells, Of Montreal, Girls, Squeak E. Clean (a.k.a. Jonze’s brother Sam Speigel), and newly formed super-trio the Lost Trees, featuring the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Flea, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Nick Zinner, and the Sads‘ Aska Matsumiya.

Consequence of Sound is streaming the latter’s Nico-esque album-opening ballad here; find the full tracklisting after the jump:I’m Here: The Soundtrack Tracklist:

01. ASKA – There Are Many of Us (feat. Nick Zinner and Flea)

02. Gui Boratto – Beautiful Life

03. Sleigh Bells – A/B Machines

04. Of Montreal – The Past Is A Grotesque Animal (feat. The Lost Trees)

05. Animal Collective – Did You See the Words

06. Girls – Hellhole Ratrace

07. Squeak E. Clean – There Are Many of Us (Electric Dream Version)

08. Squeak E. Clean – Lonesome Robot Theme

09. ASKA – Y.O.U.

Follow the Music Mix on Twitter: @EWMusicMix.)

More news from’s Music Mix: