What’s more “Christmas” than a rolling ball of meat morphing into a tree and singing about boogers? That’s right, NOTHING. Meatwad, Master Shake, Frylock, Carl, and — believe it or not — Neko Case (who just became one of my favorite singers of all time) have teamed together for what will no doubt be this season’s must-have stocking stuffer: the 12-track Have Yourself a Meaty Little Christmas, set for CD and download release Nov. 3 through Adult Swim’s Williams Street Records.

EW has exclusive song samples (one below and more, along with the full track listing, after the jump) and the following interview with the Meat Man himself. Not ATHF creator and Meatwad voice Dave Willis — who did briefly hop on the phone to say, without a tremendous degree of confidence, that an Aqua Teen movie sequel is scheduled for 2011 — but the actual Meatwad, who talked about everything from having Case guest on his record to the uncanny similarity between George Lucas and Santa Claus.

The record is as ridiculous, pointless, and hilarious as you’d expect, and I will be playing it each and every day this coming holiday season. I hope I’m still married by New Year’s.

ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: Hey, Meatwad. What’s up, man?

MEATWAD: What up, what up! Happy holidays, Merry Christmas.

Thanks. A little early on that, don’t you think?

I think you’ll find a lot of statistics will tell you most people don’t know when Christmas happens. Also, this is for those people who celebrate Christmas year-round, cuz there’s some crazy people out there.

Sure. So what are some of the Christmas traditions at the Aqua Teen crib?

Well, we all get together on Christmas Eve, you know, and go down to the mall and hang out behind cars and yell, like “Ow, you ran over my foot!”, and people give us money. Cuz Christmas is about giving. Also, I don’t know about your house, but at my house, I get my ass beat a lot. You saw my song “I Sure Hope I Don’t Have To Beat Your Ass This Christmas”? That’s about me. Christmas is fun.


Did you write all the original material on this record?

Yeah, this is my baby. I wrote all the songs. The one that says written by Jose Feliciano [“Feliz Navidad”]? I did that one, too. Somehow Shake walked off with all the publishing, though. I don’t know how that happened. He’s a wily one.

Ya know, I wanted to do the whole album in sign language, so we’d have the first Christmas album for the deaf. But then I was told that would be really long and quiet.

What’s your favorite Christmas album of all time?

You know that Star Wars Christmas album? You see the Star Wars Christmas, and you be like, it shows them celebrate Christmas in the Dagobah System. That just goes to show, Santa Claus is everywhere, Mike. So you better watch out, Greedo. Cuz he know if you’re naughty or nice, Boba Fett. Santa Claus is everywhere. And ya know what? So is George Lucas. Makes you wonder. You ever see them together in the same room? Makes you wonder. But Lucas’ beard is more sculpted. Makes it look like he has a little more of a jaw line.


So seeing as you guested on DangerDoom’s Mouse and the Mask collab, wondering if you asked Danger Mouse or Doom to jump in on a track here?

Well, I didn’t want to ask them to be on this album because I didn’t want to hear them say the word no, and then rhyme it with yo, and like, I gotta go. But I did get my buddy Neko Case to sing with me on “Santa Left a Booger in My Stocking.” She’s beautiful and her voice is so beautiful. It’s a good song. It’s about the best gift of all and how it comes from deep within…like, the nose area.

So what are you looking to get for Christmas this year, Meatwad?

I don’t want to be greedy, you know. But I’ve got my eyes on some prescription de-worming medication. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of another species growing in my belly, but those worms are starting to mess with my sleep cycle, if you know what I mean. I have to get up to poop all the time. It ain’t fun.


Have Yourself a Meaty Little Christmas

(Due Nov. 3)

1. Feliz Navidad (2:25)

2. Hark! The Herald Angels Rap (3:01)

3. Jingle Bells Deep (1:32)

4. Santa Left A Booger In My Stocking (3:25)

5. I’ll Be Home For Christmas (2:17)

6. Twas The Night Before Jesus/The Story of Jesus (4:29)

7. Frosty The Red-Nosed Snowman (1:29)

8. I Sure Hope I Don’t Have To Beat Your Ass This Christmas (5:07)

9. The Little Drum Machine Boy (2:41)

10. All I Want For Christmas Is My One Front Tooth (3:16)

11. Oh Holy ToNight (2:08)

12. Silent Night (3:23)