Less than two months ago, I was moping about “the sad prospect of a Radiohead-free 2009.” Never have I been happier to have been so wrong. This summer has turned out to be one long holiday for us worshippers of Radiohead and its leader Thom Yorke, with no less than four excellent new songs — “All for the Best” (a Miracle Legion cover), “The Present Tense,” “Harry Patch (In Memory Of),” and “These Are My Twisted Words” — appearing in our lives by various unexpected methods.

Well, get ready to add another item to that list of awesome things! Yorke announced this morning via the band’s website that he will be releasing two new sorta-solo songs very shortly. “They are loosely under the Thom Yorke name this time,” he explains, “although these days it’s all getting kind of blurry.” The first, the under-punctuated “FeelingPulledApartbyHorses,” is described as “a radical rework of an old tune that’s been kicking around without a home since 2001,” and it features Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood. The second, “The Hollow Earth,” is apparently “a bass menace” originally dating from the time of Yorke’s 2006 solo album The Eraser. Both songs will be available on a 12″ record that goes on sale Sept. 21, with a digital release to follow on Oct. 6.

Not even so much as a snippet of either song has been released, so mark those dates on your calendar. And if you really can’t wait, check out a clip of Radiohead playing what would appear to be a very early version of “FeelingPulledApartbyHorses” back in 2001, below (some NSFW language) — though it’s anyone’s guess what a “radical rework” of this will sound like. (For added confusion, this song was unofficially known as “Reckoner” at the time; a different radical spin-off became the song called “Reckoner” on 2007’s In Rainbows.) Then make yourselves known, Radiohead fans: How much are you looking forward to this? What fun surprises do you think Thom and Co. have in store for us next?

More from EW’s Music Mix: