By Simon Vozick-Levinson
June 24, 2009 at 11:52 PM EDT

The Apples in Stereo

  • Music

The Apples in stereo are currently deep in the studio working on their upcoming seventh album, Travelers in Space and Time. While we patiently await those new sounds, though, the Apples are getting ready to reward fans with a compilation of the best cuts from their previous six records. The Music Mix can exclusively reveal that #1 Hits Explosion will arrive in stores this September 1 via Yep Roc Records. In addition to over a dozen Apples favorites, the set will also come with 16 pages of detailed liner notes, including contributions from Jeff Kuykendall, who edits the thorough Elephant 6 fan site Optical Atlas.

Click through to the jump for the full #1 Hits Explosion track list, plus a suitably trippy YouTube clip for 1999’s “Strawberryfire,” my own favorite song of the bunch. Anyone else looking forward to this Explosion?

#1 Hits Explosion:
1.  Energy
2.  Go!
3.  Strawberryfire
4.  Tidal Wave
5.  Please
6.  The Rainbow
7.  Seems So
8.  Same Old Drag
9. The Bird That You Can’t See
10. Shine A Light
11. 20 Cases Suggestive Of…
12. Ruby
13. Signal In The Sky (Let’s Go)
14. Can You Feel It?
15. Winter Must Be Cold
16. Sun Is Out

More from EW’s Music Mix:
The Apples in stereo frontman talks Idol cover, next album
New albums on the way from Circulatory System…and the Olivia Tremor Control?
Which summer show would you go see for 40 percent off?

addCredit(“Joshua Kessler”)

The Apples in Stereo

  • Music
Complete Coverage
  • The Apples in Stereo