December 18, 1998 at 05:00 AM EST

BOOK ‘EM
Ken Starr seems to have launched yet another trend: the bookstore subpoena. Investigators in the JonBenet Ramsey murder case have attempted to compel Boulder, Colo.’s Rue Morgue Mystery Bookshop to turn over all records of purchases made by Patsy and John Ramsey, parents of the slain 6-year-old. Owners Tom and Enid Schantz replied that the Ramseys were not listed in the Rue Morgue’s customer database. ”But if we did have records, we wouldn’t turn them over,” says Enid. ”We feel very strongly that what people read is their business.” So strongly, in fact, that the Schantzes notified the American Booksellers Foundation for Free Expression (ABFFE), the same organization that defended Washington’s Kramerbooks from the subpoena demanding Monica Lewinsky’s records. Says Chris Finan, president of ABFFE, ”If prosecutors could subpoena bookstores just to get an idea of the kind of books people read, that would be a dangerous precedent.” Tom thinks one reason prosecutors may want the records is because of the theory that JonBenet’s killer drew inspiration from Allan Folsom’s 1994 thriller The Day After Tomorrow. Boulder’s district attorney has not taken further action. ”We’re hoping this will be the end of it,” says Tom. ”If we’re the key to solving the murder, then the murder’s never going to get solved.”

STILLER THRILLER
Fans of Janeane Garofalo and Ben Stiller will be rewarded with juicy gossip in the opening pages of their upcoming humor tome Feel This Book. The twosome — who’ve teamed up in stand-up, screen, and TV — cheekily reveal that they were former bed buddies as well. ”We have experienced, quite possibly, the worst relationship ever — at each other’s hands,” writes Stiller. To which Garofalo responds, ”Some incidents in life are blocked out for a reason.” So, did they or didn’t they? ”That’s a joke,” says Garofalo’s personal manager, Kara Welker. ”It’s a parody. They’re friends, but they’ve never had a relationship.” The Ballantine book is set for a June 1999 release.

You May Like

Comments

EDIT POST